– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

World Supercross Comes to Southern California

The Toyota World Supercross scheduled to be held at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California on Saturday, November 20, 1999 looks to be an event worth attending.

There will an all-day Expo, which includes an exhibition by the Schwinn bicycle Stunt Team, that opens at 11:00 a.m. and continues until 6:00 p.m.

Gates open to the public at 12:30 p.m. There will be an autograph session in the paddock from 12:50 p.m. to 1:40 p.m. Opening ceremonies are from 2:10 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. After that, the action begins.

Some of the best riders from both the United States and Europe are racing, and it should prove to be a night filled with plenty of bar-to-bar action. Anyone who watched the U.S. Open of Supercross in Las Vegas last month knows that these riders are hot – and there is even more talent in this field (with the Euros attending), so it will be an all-out war to win.

As of today’s date, the following is a list of riders (and their World Supercross numbers) who will be attending. Missing your favorite rider? This isn’t the final list. Although, from our perspective, it looks pretty good – only a few of the best are currently missing from action (most notably, Kevin Windham, Greg Albertyn and Stefan Everts).

2 David Vuillemin (Yamaha)
3 Larry Ward (Kawasaki)
4 Ryan Hughes (Honda)
6 Jeremy McGrath (Yamaha)
7 Ezra Lusk (Honda)
8 Jeff Emig (Yamaha)
11 Steve Lamson (Honda)
12 Mickael Pichon (Suzuki)
14 Sebastian Tortelli (Honda)
15 Mike LaRocco (Honda)
17 Jean-Sebastien Roy (Honda)
18 Marco Dube (Kawasaki)
20 Pierrick Paget (Honda)
22 Robbie Skaggs (Suzuki)
24 Serge Guidetty (Honda)
25 Xavier Fabre (Honda)
26 Anthony Josselin (Yamaha)
28 Mathieu Lalloz (Yamaha)
34 Daniel Obelisco (Honda)
37 Vincent Turpin (KTM)
40 Alexandre Schneider (Yamaha)
46 Nicolas Cailly (Honda)
50 Bruno Guyard (Kawasaki)
52 William Poll (Suzuki)
53 Eric Sorby (Yamaha)
54 Nicolas Charlier (Kawasaki)
63 Michele Monti (Honda)
65 Edwards Warren (Yamaha)
71 Christophe Lheriteau (Yamaha)
73 JeromeTaeschi (Yamaha)
104 Ricky Carmichael (Kawasaki)
115 Tim Ferry (Yamaha)
118 Brock Sellards (Honda)
120 Damon Huffman (Suzuki)
133 Heath Voss (Honda)
139 Takeshi Koikeda (Yamaha)
145 Tyler Evans (Suzuki)
168 Isaiah Johnson (Honda)
194 Billy Binckley (Yamaha)

In addition to the regularly scheduled 125/250 heats, semis and main events, there will also be some Junior Supercross action.

Last but not least, just before the 250cc Main, there will be an Extreme Air Show to keep spectators on the edge of their seats.

MD will follow the event with race results and a write up on the day’s events.