MotorcycleDaily.com – Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

AMA Pro Racing and SPEED Release Broadcast Schedule for AMA Pro Road Racing’s 2012 Season-Opening DAYTONA® 200

DAYTONA 200® Week Races to be aired on SPEED in a 4.5 Hour Programming Block on Saturday, March 17, 2012

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 6, 2012) – SPEED™, the nation’s first and only cable television network dedicated to automotive and motorcycle racing, performance and lifestyle, will once again serve as AMA Pro Road Racing’s broadcast partner in 2012. Fans of AMA Pro can tune in to SPEED on Saturday, March 17, 2012 beginning at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT to catch all of the AMA Pro Road Racing action from the season-opening DAYTONA® 200 Week at Daytona International Speedway in a set of back-to-back broadcasts.

SPEED’s coverage of AMA Pro Road Racing at Daytona International Speedway will begin with AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike Race 1, scheduled to air in a one-hour program on Saturday, March 17 at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT. At 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT, viewers can catch the stars of the AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike division as they compete in the 71st running of America’s most historic motorcycle endurance race, the 2012 DAYTONA® 200. Following the two-and-a-half hour DAYTONA 200® broadcast, coverage of Saturday’s National Guard SuperBike Race 2 is scheduled to begin at 5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT.

Highlights of the AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport and AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Series races from Daytona will be included in the SPEED broadcasts and also available live on SPEED2, an online-only racing network located at http://www.speed2.com featuring exclusive and same-day delay racing events, on-demand international motor sports content, as well as automotive and motorcycle enthusiast programming.

Friday’s Vance & Hines XR1200 Series race and Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport Race 1 can be viewed live on SPEED2 starting at 2:10 p.m. ET/11:10 a.m. PT, and before tuning to SPEED on Saturday, fans can log back into SPEED2 for a live online broadcast of the final SuperSport race, scheduled for 9:55 a.m. ET/ 6:55 a.m. PT.

The SPEED on-air team for AMA Pro Road Racing will include veteran motorcycle broadcaster Leigh Diffey providing play-by-play, with AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame rider and five-time DAYTONA® 200 winner Scott Russell joining him in the booth for analysis. Longtime SPEED reporter and host Greg White will provide reports from the pits.