– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Fillmore Finishes 14th Daytona AMA Pro Superbike Race – Day 2

Daytona Beach, FL – KTM/HMC Superbike Racing Team rider, Chris Fillmore, earned a 14th place finish on the second day of competition at the second race of the AMA Pro Superbike Racing Series held at Daytona Speedway.

In the morning warm-up laps Fillmore turned a lap time over 1 second faster than his qualifying time from the day before. “We made some changes to the bike and I was feeling more comfortable in the morning session,” remarked Fillmore.

At the start of the race, Fillmore had a great jump from his fourth row starting spot. He came around the first lap in 9th position. Unfortunately a small mechanical issue shortly after the first lap caused Fillmore to lose multiple positions. At the end of lap two he had fallen to 17th position. He quickly began to make up ground and passed into 16th before the fifth lap. Two laps later he moved into 15th place and set his sights on the pack in front of him.

With two laps to go, one rider dropped out of the race which allowed Fillmore to move up to 14th. Fillmore continued to pressure the group in front of him but ran out of time to make additional passes and settled for 14th overall for the day.

“The positive item from this weekend is that we finished safely and we were able to make some points toward the championship,” remarked KTM/HMC Superbike Racing Team Manager Mitch Hansen. “We also know items that we need to work on and we are looking forward to our upcoming test sessions to improve our set-up.”

The team will now head to the Homestead-Miami track where they will spend two days testing to help prepare for the next event.

Next Race: Road Atlanta – April 20-22, 2012

Overall Results –

  1. Blake Young
  2. Josh Hayes
  3. Roger Hayden
  4. Josh Herrin
  5. Larry Pegram
  6. Steve Rapp
  7. Chris Clark
  8. Jake Holden
  9. Danny Eslick
  10. Robertino Pietri
  11. David Anthony
  12. Chris Ulrich
  13. Taylor Knapp
  14. Chris Fillmore
  15. Ben Bostrom
  16. Eric Pinson
  17. Trent Gibson
  18. Eric Haugo
  19. Johnny Rock Page
  20. Geoff May
  21. Jordan Burgess
  22. Jeffrey Lampe
  23. Lloyd Bayler
  24. Shawn Higbee