– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Fillmore Places 12th at Opening AMA Pro Superbike Race

Daytona Beach, FL – KTM/HMC Superbike Racing Team rider Chris Fillmore placed 12th overall at the first race of the 2012 AMA Pro Superbike Racing season held at Daytona Speedway.

Fillmore was placed on the fourth row of the start after qualifying 15th fastest during the early morning practice session.

Fillmore had a great jump off the line and moved into 12th by the end of the first lap. For the first half of the race Fillmore was battling for a top ten position and at the halfway point moved up three positions to take over 10th place. A lap later he ran wide in the corner and lost two positions falling to 12th.

He then went to battle with Chris Ulrich for the remainder of the race for the 11th place position. Both riders swapped the position multiple times. On the final lap Fillmore was right on Ulrich’s rear wheel with Ulrich just edging out Fillmore for the position when the checkers flew.

Fillmore, who raced on the KTM 1190 RC8 R Race Spec model, reported, “I was happy to come in here and get one race under my belt. My bike handled really well today and was great through the in-field sections. I am looking forward to getting a better start tomorrow and running with the top ten guys.”

“Fillmore put together a great race today and battled hard all the way through to come out in 12th,” remarked KTM/HMC Superbike Racing Team Manager Mitch Hansen. “We have one more race tomorrow and we know a few things we can do to improve his set-up and hopefully move us closer to a top ten finish.”

Overall Results AMA Pro Superbike Class:

  1. Josh Hayes
  2. Blake Young
  3. Roger Hayden
  4. Larry Pegram
  5. Steve Rapp
  6. Geoff May
  7. Jake Holden
  8. Robertino Pietri
  9. Chris Clark
  10. David Anthony
  11. Chris Ulrich
  12. Chris Fillmore – KTM
  13. Ben Bostrom
  14. Jordan Burgess
  15. Jeffrey Lampe
  16. Eric Haugo
  17. Eric Pinson
  18. Trent Gibson
  19. Lloyd Bayley
  20. Johnny Rock Page
  21. Josh Herrin
  22. Danny Eslick
  23. Taylor Knapp
  24. Shawn Higbee