– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Pirelli and Team JGRMX Continue to Strive for Podium Position Headed Into Final Three Races of the Season

New Orleans, Louisiana, April 16, 2012 – After a weekend off, the 2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series picked back up in New Orleans, La., where 33,392 fans congregated to The Superdome for round 14 of the action. Davi Millsaps was on hand to represent team JGRMX/ Toyota/ Yamaha as James “Bubba” Stewart remained sidelined with a fractured hand. Stewart will have the injury re-evaluated by his doctor prior to returning to the track.

Riding on Pirelli Scorpion MX family of tires, Millsaps endured a fall early on in his heat race, forcing him to qualify through a last chance qualifier (LCQ). Battling through a sore knee and ribs, Millsaps won the LCQ, securing a position in the main event. Despite another tumble on the opening turn, Millsaps continued to fight his way to the front of the pack. After advancing to eighth place at the halfway mark, Millsaps finished the race in sixth, and improved to second overall in series points.

“We are extremely happy for Davi as he sits in second overall in championship points with only three races remaining,” said Josh Whitmire, Pirelli North America Off Road Manager. “To see him finish in a podium position in points in only his second year on Pirelli tires will be great.”

With only three rounds to go, Millsaps’ consistency has won him a five-point lead over third place Justin Brayton. Stewart remains fifth overall with 178.

Round 15 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship will be held April 21 at the CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash. SPEED will air the event live starting at 10:30 p.m. (EST).

POS. # Name Bike Overall POS Points
1 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki KX450F 1 321
2 33 Joshua Grant Kawasaki KX450F 19 58
3 10 Justin Brayton Honda CRF450 3 201
4 24 Brett Metcalfe Suzuki RM-Z450 6 172
5 29 Andrew Short Honda CRF450 15 75
6 18 David Millsaps Yamaha YZ450F 2 206
7 54 Weston Peick Kawasaki KX450F 17 65
8 11 Kyle Chisholm Kawasaki KX450F 11 129
9 58 Wil Hahn Honda CRF450 28 31
10 25 Broc Tickle Kawasaki KX450F 10 133
11 27 Nicholas Wey Kawasaki KX450F 14 86
12 48 Jimmy Albertson Suzuki RM-Z450 27 26
13 800 Mike Alessi Suzuki RM-Z450 9 162
14 82 Justin Sipes Kawasaki KX450F 21 44
15 617 Gavin Faith Honda CRF 450 28 24
16 374 Cody Gilmore Kawasaki KX450F 37 5
17 36 Kyle Regal Honda CRF-450 26 28
18 81 Robert Kiniry Yamaha YZ450F 16 70
19 50 Nico Izzi Yamaha YZ450F 23 31
20 21 Jake Weimer Kawasaki KX450F 7 171