– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Red Bull KTM SX Race Recap & Results – Anaheim III

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey won his first 450SX Supercross race of the season in front of a packed Anaheim crowd at Angel Stadium. Dungey’s win marked the second KTM win of the night after his teammate, Ken Roczen, took the victory in the 250SX class for the second weekend in a row.

Dungey’s day started well with him turning fast lap times in the afternoon qualifiers. Unfortunately, a mechanical issue right at the start of his heat caused him to not finish the race and he had to race the LCQ.

In the LCQ, Dungey got caught in a first turn pile up and had to work his way into qualifying position. He passed into the final qualifying spot on the last lap to transfer into the main event.

His luck would change when the gate dropped for the main event. Dungey leaped out front to a 2nd place start behind Mike Alessi. Dungey quickly made a pass into the lead on the second lap of the race and he never looked back. Dungey pulled away out front while the others battled behind him to take his first win of the 2013 Supercross season.

Dungey and Roczen’s win marks KTM’s first-ever sweep of both Supercross classes. “Tonight has been a great night,” remarked Red Bull KTM Team Manager Roger DeCoster. “We are so proud of both our rider’s and the entire work our team has put in to get to this point. Now we just need to work harder to stay here.”

Next Event: February 9, 2013 – San Diego, CA

Overall Results 450SX Class –

  1. Ryan Dungey – KTM
  2. Davi Millsaps
  3. Justin Barcia
  4. James Stewart
  5. Chad Reed
  6. Andrew Short
  7. Trey Canard
  8. Ryan Villopoto
  9. Broc Tickle
  10. 10. Justin Brayton
  11. 11. Matt Lemoine
  12. 12. Jimmy Albertson
  13. 13. Matt Goerke – KTM
  14. 14. Kyle Chisholm
  15. 15. Vince Friese
  16. 16. PJ Larsen
  17. 17. Mike Alessi
  18. 18. Josh Grant
  19. 19. Chris Blose
  20. 20. Jake Weimer

Overall Point Standings 450SX Class –

  1. Davi Millsaps – 107
  2. Ryan Dungey – 93
  3. Trey Canard – 92