– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Red Bull KTM 250 SX Race Recap & Results – Indianapolis

Indianapolis, IN – Red Bull KTM Factory rider Marvin Musquin earned his second straight win in a row in the 250SX class in front of 50,000 people at the Monster Energy Supercross at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Musquin was placed in the first heat of the night where he earned a second place start out of the gate. Musquin quickly made the pass for the lead in the first rhythm section. He led the remainder of the race to claim his first heat win of the season taking the top qualifying spot for the main event.

When the gate dropped for the main event, Musquin had an okay jump out of the gate but got stuck behind two tuff blocks that were pushed into the first corner after a few riders went down. He rounded the next corner in dead last.

In a miraculous ride to the front of the pack Musquin quickly set to work picking off riders. Four laps into the race he had climbed into the top ten. Three laps later he was trailing the fifth place ride of Vince Friese. In the remaining laps he reeled in each of the top five riders to eventually pass the second place ride of Kyle Peters on the final lap. It was on that same lap that the lead rider, Blake Wharton, suffered a crash in a rhythm section allowing Musquin to move into the lead. A few corners later and Musquin took his second straight win with a celebratory heel-clicker.

“I was really looking for a win tonight and when I got stuck behind the tuff blocks in the first corner I was so mad and it just made me fight harder,” commented Musquin. “I passed Wil Hahn early on and that made me happy as I need to earn as many points as I can on him. I fought really hard and was able to pass a lot of riders. I was able to capitalize on the crash of Blake to get the win. It is a lucky win but this is fantastic to get two in a row.”

Next Event: Toronto Supercross – March 23, 2013

Overall Results –

  1. Marvin Musquin – KTM
  2. Kyle Peters
  3. Wil Hahn
  4. AJ Catanzaro
  5. Blake Wharton
  6. Justin Hill
  7. Vince Friese
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg
  9. Gavin Faith
  10. PJ Larsen
  11. Steven Clark
  12. James Decotis
  13. Zach Bell
  14. Zach Freeburg
  15. Levi Kilbarger
  16. Cole Thompson
  17. Daniel Herrlein
  18. Jackson Richardson
  19. Lance Vincent – KTM
  20. Jeremy Martin

Overall Point Standings –

  1. Wil Hahn – 112
  2. Marvin Musquin – 103
  3. Blake Wharton – 92