– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Red Bull KTM SX Race Recap & Results – Indianapolis

Indianapolis, IN – Red Bull KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey finished second overall at the eleventh round of the Monster Energy 450SX Supercross Series, an FIM World Championship held at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Dungey was placed in the first heat race of the night where he got a great jump out of the gate and came into the first corner in third position. Unfortunately, he got pinched off in the second corner and dropped to seventh place. The next three laps he battled with the five riders ahead of him to get toward the front of the pack. He swapped positions with Justin Barcia multiple times before making an inside pass stick on the fifth lap to take over fifth place. In that same lap, he was able to reel in Justin Sipes and pick off another spot. In the final lap of the race he caught and passed Mike Alessi to finish third in his heat.

Dungey had a decent jump off the line in the main event and rounded the first corner in fifth position. He moved into fourth by the end of the second lap and began to reel in the top three riders. On the seventh lap of the race, the lead ride of James Stewart stalled in a corner allowing Ryan Villopoto to take the lead and Dungey to move into second position. In the remaining laps, Dungey trailed Villopoto trying multiple maneuvers to make a pass stick. At the end of twenty laps, Dungey remained on the rear end of Villopoto but was unable to make the pass and held on to finish second for a podium finish.

On the podium, Dungey stated, “We made some adjustments in the afternoon practice sessions to get everything dialed in for the night show. The track was both slippery and tacky in spots and it made it a little tricky to determine the best bike set-up. In the end, I was able to pressure Ryan (Villopoto) throughout the race but couldn’t make the pass stick. I am happy with second tonight and am looking forward to Toronto.”

Overall Results –

  1. Ryan Villopoto
  2. Ryan Dungey – KTM
  3. James Stewart
  4. Davi Millsaps
  5. Justin Barcia
  6. Chad Reed
  7. Andrew Short – KTM
  8. Matt Goerke – KTM
  9. Eli Tomac
  10. Weston Peick
  11. Broc Tickle
  12. Josh Hill
  13. Justin Brayton
  14. Phil Nicoletti
  15. Kyle Partridge
  16. Justin Sipes
  17. Mike Alessi
  18. Bobby Kiniry
  19. Trey Canard
  20. Jake Weimer

Overall Point Standings –

  1. Ryan Villopoto – 227
  2. Davi Millsaps – 218
  3. Ryan Dungey – 210