– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Sykes makes it six in a row with Imola Tissot-Superpole win

Imola (Italy), Saturday 29 June 2013 – Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) has clocked another outstanding lap-time to grab his 6th consecutive Tissot-Superpole out of 7 held so far in 2013 – the 17th of his career – that brings the English rider up to 4th in the all-time pole position winners list, tied with former WSBK Champion Doug Polen. After seeing his time deleted as it was completed under a Red Flag situation, Sykes went back on track and broke into the 1’45s by setting the new best lap for the track in 1’45.981.

The Red Flag was waved following the heavy crash by Sykes’ team mate Loriz Baz, who fell at the downhill section leading to Turn 18 while his ZX-10R tumbled the grass, and over the air-fence, to eventually land back on track, with a good amount of oil and fuel laid down.

Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) has again showed a very good synergy with his CBR1000RR at Imola by finishing second ahead of an impressive Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Aprilia), who stormed to third place in his last quick-lap attempt. Works Aprilia riders Sylvain Guintoli and Eugene Laverty finished 4th and 5th respectively, followed by Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki), Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet) and Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare).

2011 World Superbike Champion Carlos Checa (Team Ducati Alstare) had a difficult time in Tissot-Superpole, as the Spaniard crashed in the opening stages of the first session at Turn 2. Checa will move off from the 13th slot on the grid in tomorrow’s races.

Tissot-Superpole times: 1. Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’45.981 average 167.668 kph; 2. Rea (Honda) 1’46.556; 3. Giugliano (Aprilia) 1’46.713; 4. Guintoli (Aprilia) 1’46.857; 5. Laverty (Aprilia) 1’46.931; 6. Camier (Suzuki) 1’47.165; 7. Melandri (BMW) 1’47.221; 8. Badovini (Ducati) 1’47.396; 9. Baz (Kawasaki) 1’47.597; 10. Davies (BMW); 11. Haslam (Honda); 12. Fabrizio (Aprilia); 13. Checa (Ducati); 14. Cluzel (Suzuki); 15. Neukirchner (Ducati); 16. Sandi (Kawasaki); 17. Iannuzzo (BMW); 18. Haga (BMW); 19. Lundh (Kawasaki).