– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

#USWorldSBK Manufacturers in Monterey

Aprilia have won three times at Laguna Seca: with Troy Corser in Race 1, 2000, Eugene Laverty in Race 2, 2013 and Marco Melandri in 2014 Race 1. Their last podium here came three years ago with Sylvain Guintoli, who was second in Race 2. Last year De Angelis and Savadori were respectively 9th and 6th in Race 1, while neither of them were able to finish Race 2.

BMW 2013 recorded two podium finishes at Laguna Seca in 2013: Chaz Davies was second in Race 1 and Marco Melandri third in Race 2. Last year the best of the four BMW riders was Jordi Torres: 8th in Race 1 and 6th in Race 2.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer in Laguna Seca’s history with 12 wins and 37 podiums. Last year they endured a disappointing Race 1 as both works riders crashed out, coming back strongly in Race 2, with Davide Giugliano in 2nd and Chaz Davies in 3rd. That was the first double podium finish for Ducati in Laguna Seca since 2004 (James Toseland 2nd; Regis Laconi 3rd). Ducati’s rate of success here is so high that the only years they didn’t secure podiums were 2013 and 2014. In all the races run here, Ducati has always had a bike in the top four grid positions.

Five wins have been secured by Honda, the last ones in 2004 (a double by Chris Vermeulen). The last of their 15 podiums here came with a third by the late Nicky Hayden last year in Race 2.

Last year Kawasaki recorded their only double at Laguna Seca, with Jonathan Rea winning Race 1 and Tom Sykes Race 2. With 6 wins and 16 podiums, Kawasaki are second only to Ducati in the all-time standings at Laguna. In the last eight races run, the best Kawasaki at the flag was always in the top four. Starting from 2014, this record improves with the best Kawasaki always finishing on the podium at Laguna Seca.

The best result for MV Agusta at Laguna Seca is a 10th (2014 Race 2, both 2015 races), scored by the only rider who ever took an MV Agusta to the races at Laguna Seca, Leon Camier.

Yamaha climbed on the podium three times at Laguna Seca, with a win from Noriyuki Haga in 1998, and a first and second again by Haga in 2000. Last year Yamaha made their return to Monterey for the first time since 2004, and their best results were a 5th from Alex Lowes in Race 1 and an 8th from Niccolò Canepa in Race 2.