– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Abe Wins Rio 500 GP, While Criville Takes Championship; Rossi Both Race Winner and Champion in 250’s

Two World Champions were crowned today in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. With one round remaining in the Championship Series, both Alex Criville (Honda; 500) and Valentino Rossi (Aprilia; 250) clinched the 1999 World Championship. Criville finished sixth in the 500 race, while Rossi won the 250 race. The 500 race was won by Yamaha’s Norick Abe, with Max Biaggi (Yamaha) second and Kenny Roberts (Suzuki) third.

The 500 race started out looking like a Kenny Roberts runaway, but, as has happened frequently of late, Roberts had tire trouble and the pack caught and passed him as the race progressed. Actually, Roberts hung in there close with Abe and Biaggi up to the last lap, which was a real thriller, with Abe just winning over Biaggi at the line.

The 250 race was also an exciting dog fight, with Rossi ultimately the victor, followed by Tohru Ukawa (Honda) in second and Loris Capirossi (Honda) in third place.

Final 500cc Race Results (Top 10)

1. Norick Abe (Yamaha)
2. Max Biaggi (Yamaha)
3. Kenny Roberts (Suzuki)
4. Alex Barros (Honda)
5. Sete Gibernau (Honda)
6. Alex Criville (Honda)
7. Tadayuki Okada (Honda)
8. Garry McCoy (Yamaha)
9. Nobuatsu Aoki (Suzuki)
10. Anthony Gobert (MuZ)

Final 250cc Race Results (Top 10)

1. Valentino Rossi (Aprilia)
2. Tohru Ukawa (Honda)
3. Loris Capirossi (Honda)
4. Olivier Jacque (Yamaha)
5. Stefano Perugini (Honda)
6. Sebastian Porto (Yamaha)
7. Ralf Waldman (Aprilia)
8. Tomomi Manako (Yamaha)
9. Roberto Rolfo (Aprilia)
10. Luca Boscoscuro (TSR-Honda)

500cc Points Standings (Top 10)

1. Alex Criville (Honda) 256
2. Tadayuki Okada (Honda) 211
3. Kenny Roberts (Suzuki) 195
4. Max Biaggi (Yamaha) 174
5. Sete Gibernau (Honda) 155
6. Norick Abe (Yamaha) 120
7. Carlos Checa (Yamaha) 112
8. John Kocinski (Honda) 106
9. Alex Barros (Honda) 102
10. Regis Laconi (Yamaha) 99

250cc Points Standings (Top 10)

1. Valentino Rossi (Aprilia) 293
2. Tohru Ukawa (Honda) 241
3. Loris Capirossi (Honda) 209
4. Shinya Nakano (Yamaha) 196
5. Stefano Perugini (Honda) 141
6. Ralf Waldmann (Aprilia) 126
7. Franco Battaini (Aprilia) 121
8. Olivier Jacque (Yamaha) 97
9. Sebastian Porto (Yamaha) 85
10. Jeremy McWilliams (Aprilia) 83

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games