– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

AMA celebrates successful 2014 AMA Supercross season

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates the three riders who claimed AMA No. 1 plates during the 2014 AMA Supercross season — Ryan Villopoto, 450SX champion; Justin Bogle, 250SX East champion; and Jason Anderson, 250SX West champion — and thanks its partners for another successful year.

“The 2014 season demonstrated yet again why AMA Supercross is one of the most exciting sports on two wheels,” said AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. “Some of the most thrilling main events in recent memory took place this year, and we congratulate Ryan Villopoto, Justin Bogle and Jason Anderson for earning their AMA No. 1 plates. Excelling for a full season of AMA Supercross is one of motorsports’ greatest challenges, and these riders can stand proud for what they have achieved.”

Dingman added that AMA Supercross is only possible thanks to the cooperation and efforts of the AMA’s promoting and operational partners.

“The growth of AMA Supercross over the years has benefited greatly from the efforts and support of Feld Motor Sports,” Dingman said. “I extend my personal thanks and congratulations for another season well done. In addition, we appreciate the participation of the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme, which bolsters our championship on the world level.”

Another group important to success of AMA Supercross is the Asterisk Mobile Medical Center, which provided a range of emergency medical care for riders throughout the 2015 season.

“The Asterisk Mobile Medical Center is an enormous asset to AMA Supercross operations,” said AMA Director of Supercross Kevin Crowther. “The health and safety of the riders are paramount, and the experienced Asterisk crew ensures that we have the best people on hand to manage any and all medical-related issues. The officials and floor staff depend on Asterisk, and we’re thankful for what they do.”

Ryan Villopoto, from Seattle, Wash., locked up his fourth straight AMA Supercross premier class title in the series’ penultimate round, clinching at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J. In so doing, Villopoto joined AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Jeremy McGrath as the only riders with four consecutive championships. For the 2014 season, Villopoto claimed seven main event wins in the 17-race series, including the Las Vegas finale. Villopoto races for Monster Energy Kawasaki.

Justin Bogle, from Cushing, Okla., won the 250SX East Championship, finishing second in Las Vegas behind Star Racing Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin. For the season, Bogle had two wins and three runner-up finishes in the regional championship. Bogle races for the GEICO Honda team.

Jason Anderson, from Rio Rancho, N.M., won the 250SX West Championship. Anderson finished sixth in Las Vegas, earning enough points to claim the title over Troy Lee Designs Honda’s Cole Seely, 193 to 188. Anderson had four wins over the course of the regional championship. Anderson races for Rockstar Energy KTM.

The 2015 AMA Supercross season kicks off in Anaheim, Calif., next Jan. 3. The complete 2015 series schedule is below. For updates, see the AMA’s official series website and the official AMA series Facebook page

Date Venue City
Jan. 3 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif.
Jan. 10 Chase Field Phoenix
Jan. 17 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif.
Jan. 24 O.Co Coliseum Oakland, Calif.
Jan. 31 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif.
Feb. 7 Petco Park San Diego
Feb. 14 AT&T Stadium Arlington, Texas
Feb. 21 Georgia Dome Atlanta
Feb. 28 Georgia Dome Atlanta
March 7 Daytona International Speedway Daytona Beach, Fla.
March 14 Lucas Oil Stadium Indianapolis
March 21 Ford Field Detroit
March 28 Edward Jones Dome St. Louis
April 11 NRG Stadium Houston
April 18 Levi’s Stadium Santa Clara, Calif.
April 25 MetLife Stadium East Rutherford, N.J.
May 2 Sam Boyd Stadium Las Vegas
wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games