– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Sykes wins opening WSBK race in Misano from team mate Baz

Race 1 Podium

Misano (Italy), Sunday 22 June 2014 –After 21 fast and furious laps, Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) has won the opening race of the day at the Misano World Circuit – Marco Simoncelli after starting from Pole Position courtesy of his record breaking lap yesterday. This is the 19th individual WSBK race win, the first one at Misano, for the British rider, who extends his lead in the title race to 27 points over Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team). Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) and Marco Melandri (Aprilia Racing Team) took the remaining podium positions by finishing second and third, respectively.

From the start however it was Toni Elias (Red Devils Roma Aprilia) that took the holeshot before reigning champion Tom Sykes forced his way past towards the end of the opening lap.

Both factory Aprilia riders made small mistakes before regrouping allowing Loris Baz through to give chase to his Kawasaki team mate.

Elias overshot at the start of lap 3 into turn one whilst the battle at the front was intensifying.

As the race progressed the battle at the front was fast becoming a two rider affair with the fight for the final podium place now involving both Ducati riders as well as the two factory Aprilia machines, Elias and the Pata Honda of Jonathan Rea.

As the race entered the final third Sykes was pulling away from Baz by 2 tenths of second leaving the Frenchman a lonely second. The final podium fight was now between Marco Melandri (Aprilia Racing Team) and Chaz Davies (Ducati Superbike Team) with Melandri eventually grabbing 3rd at the flag.

Chaz Davies, Sylvain Guintoli and Toni Elias completed the top 6.

David Salom (Kawasaki Racing Team) came out on top in the EVO battle after working his way through the pack after being caught mid pack in the opening sequence of corners, eventually finishing a respectable 11th overall.

Alessandro Andreozzi (Team Pedercini Kawasaki) and Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) crashed out unhurt. Frenchman Fabien Foret (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki – EVO) retired on lap 10, after starting the race from the pit-lane due to a technical infringement found on his ZX-10R.

Results: 1. Sykes (Kawasaki) 21 Laps/88.746 km in 33’46.932 average 157.620 kph; 2. Baz (Kawasaki) 5.012; 3. Melandri (Aprilia) 6.417; 4. Davies (Ducati) 7.783; 5. Guintoli (Aprilia) 16.248; 6. Elias (Aprilia) 17.399; 7. Rea (Honda) 21.162; 8. Giugliano (Ducati) 26.393; 9. Laverty (Suzuki) 26.842; 10. Haslam (Honda) 40.600; 11. Salom (Kawasaki) 42.064; 12. Canepa (Ducati) 46.804; 13. Corti (MV Agusta) 48.909; 14. Goi (Ducati) 50.429; 15. Barrier (BMW) 52.452; 16. Guarnoni (Kawasaki) 1’02.476; 17. Russo (Kawasaki) 1’11.815; 18. Staring (Kawasaki) 1’23.649; 19. Sebestyen (BMW) 1 Lap; RT. Morais (Kawasaki); RT. Lowes (Suzuki); RT. Yates (EBR); RT. Foret (Kawasaki); RT. Baiocco (Ducati); RT. Andreozzi (Kawasaki); RT. May (EBR); SH. Badovini (Bimota) 46.219; SH. Iddon (Bimota) 53.155.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games