– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Rockstar Energy Suzuki Supercross Recap & Results: Oakland

Team Suzuki Press Office – Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey raced to a third-placed podium finish at Saturday night’s AMA/ FIM World Supercross at the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in California.

“The day started off good,” said Dungey. “My Rockstar Makita Suzuki team got things dialled in pretty good in practice and I felt really comfortable on the bike. The heat race was a little tough – I didn’t get off to the best start and the track was a bit greasy. I got a better start in the Main and worked my way up to second, but unfortunately I got passed right at the end. All in all, my RM-Z450 worked great and the team did a great job. It will be great to go back to Anaheim. We know more what to expect there and hopefully we can get a good start and put the Rockstar Makita Suzuki up front.”

Team mate Brett Metcalfe rode his Suzuki to an 11th-place in the afternoon qualifying. Like Dungey, Metcalfe had a tough time in his heat race and finished seventh, but in the Main, he rode strong, piloting his Suzuki RM-Z450 to fifth place; his best of the year.

“We made some changes to my Suzuki this week,” said Metcalfe. “And I want to thank everyone at Rockstar Makita Suzuki, as we really found my comfort zone and I’m feeling really good on the bike. I did struggle in the whoops tonight but my Suzuki was working awesome. I felt a lot better out there on the track – I was starting to make moves and pick guys off and was able to work my way up to fifth and felt good. I got passed with three laps to go but was able to pass back on the last lap. I’m excited to get back to Anaheim. We’re definitely progressing – a fifth tonight was good and now we have some momentum going into Anaheim.”

The 2011 Rockstar Makita Suzuki team’s next event is Saturday, February 5th, at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California.

Supercross results: 1. James Stewart (Yamaha); 2. Chad Reed (Honda); 3. Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki); 4. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki); 5. Brett Metcalfe (Rockstar Makita Suzuki); 6. Trey Canard (Honda); 7. Kevin Windham (Honda); 8. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha); 9. Andrew Short (KTM); 10. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki).