– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross – Historical Notes Package Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, IN

Monster Energy SX_040616

Indianapolis will celebrate 25 years of hosting a Monster Energy Supercross race in 2016.

In those 25 years, Monster Energy Supercross has raced inside two stadiums. From ’92-’08 races were held inside the RCA Dome and moved to Lucas Oil Stadium starting with the 2009 season.

Both the RCA Dome and Lucas Oil Stadium have hosted landmark Monster Energy Supercross races. The 1997 visit to the RCA Dome was the 300th 450SX Class race, while the 2015 visit to Lucas Oil Stadium was the 600th 450SX Class race.

The diehard motorsports fans in Indianapolis have made it one of the highest-attended races in Monster Energy Supercross each season, averaging an attendance of 60,420 in seven seasons at Lucas Oil Stadium. Nearly 1.3 million fans have watched the Indy Supercross for the past 24 years.

450SX Class Stats

2015 Podium: Ryan Dungey, Cole Seely, Trey Canard

The first 450SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992, at the RCA Dome. Jeff Stanton won on a Honda en route to capturing that season’s championship.

There has never been a first-time 450SX Class winner in Indianapolis.

Nine different riders took 450SX Class victories in 17 seasons at the RCA Dome. Just three riders have won in seven seasons at Lucas Oil Stadium. In total, only five riders have won multiple races in Indy.

Chad Reed is the only rider with 450SX Class wins in both stadiums. He won the last race at the RCA Dome in 2008 and went back-to-back by winning the inaugural race at Lucas Oil Stadium in 2009. Reed also won his first race on U.S. soil in Indy back in 2002 while racing in the 250SX Class.

Indiana native and supercross legend Mike LaRocco won his last 450SX Class race in Indianapolis on March 20, 2004. There were 14 seasons between his first and last win in the premier class. He is the all-time leader in 450SX Class starts with 227.

Jeremy McGrath won four consecutive races in Indianapolis from ’93-’96. Ryan Villopoto did the same from ’10-’13. They are also the only two riders in Monster Energy Supercross history to win four straight 450SX Class titles.

McGrath is the winningest rider in Indy history, earning six wins in eight seasons. Ricky Carmichael and Villopoto have four wins apiece, with Carmichael winning in consecutive seasons just once (’05-’06).

Ryan Dungey will look to become just the third rider to win three straight races in Indy.

Carmichael is the only rider to win in Indianapolis on three different brands: Kawasaki, Honda, and Suzuki.

After winning the first five Indy races from ‘92-‘96, Honda has just three wins in the past 19 seasons and none since LaRocco’s last win in 2004. However, it is still the winningest brand in Indy history.

Carmichael, Dungey, Ezra Lusk, McGrath and Reed are the only riders to win in both classes in Indy. Trey Canard, Marvin Musquin and Christophe Pourcel could add their name to this list this season.

The winner of the Indianapolis Supercross has gone on to win the 450SX Class title in 18 of 24 seasons, including eight of the last 11 years. The winner during the first seven Indy races became the eventual champion.

All-Time Wins in Indianapolis

Jeremy McGrath – 6
Ricky Carmichael – 4
Ryan Villopoto – 4
Ryan Dungey – 2
Chad Reed – 2

All-Time Wins By Brand in Indianapolis (Last Win)

Honda: 8 (2004)
Kawasaki: 7 (2013)
Yamaha: 4 (2008)
Suzuki: 3 (2009)
KTM: 2 (2015)

Brand Sweeps in Indianapolis (450SX & 250SX)

1993: Honda – Jeremy McGrath & Doug Henry
2002: Yamaha – David Vuillemin & Chad Reed
2005: Suzuki – Ricky Carmichael & Davi Millsaps
2010: Kawasaki – Ryan Villopoto & Christophe Pourcel
2015: KTM – Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Indianapolis

Ricky Carmichael
Ryan Dungey
Ezra Lusk
Jeremy McGrath
Chad Reed

Past Winners in Indianapolis

1992: Jeff Stanton, Honda
1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1994: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1995: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki
1998: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha
1999: Ezra Lusk, Honda
2000: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha
2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
2002: David Vuillemin, Yamaha
2003: Ricky Carmichael, Honda
2004: Mike LaRocco, Honda
2005: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki
2006: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki
2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2009: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2010: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2011: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2014: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM


250SX Class Stats

2015 Podium: Marvin Musquin, Justin Bogle, RJ Hampshire

The first 250SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992. Jimmy Button won the race on a Yamaha.

Trey Canard won the last 250SX Class race held in the RCA Dome in 2008. Austin Stroupe won the first race at Lucas Oil Stadium in 2009.

Only three riders have multiple 250SX Class wins in Indy – Davi Millsaps, Marvin Musquin and Mickael Pichon. Both Millsaps and Pichon won back-to-back seasons. Musquin is the only repeat winner at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Millsaps is the only 250SX Class rider to win in Indianapolis on two brands (Suzuki 2005 & Honda 2006).

The 250SX Class winner in Indy has gone on to win the title in 13 of 24 seasons, but just twice since moving to Lucas Oil Stadium in 2009.

There have been six different winners in seven 250SX Class races at Lucas Oil Stadium. This season will welcome the seventh different winner in eight races.

Five riders have earned their first career win in Indianapolis: Michael Brandes, Josh Hansen, Davi Millsaps, Chad Reed and Ryan Sipes.

All-Time Wins in Indianapolis

Davi Millsaps – 2
Marvin Musquin – 2
Mickael Pichon – 2

All-Time Wins by Brand in Indianapolis (Last Win)

Yamaha: 6 (2011)
Suzuki: 6 (2012)
Kawasaki: 6 (2014)
Honda: 4 (2008)
KTM: 2 (2015)

First-Time Winners in Indianapolis

2000: Michael Brandes
2002: Chad Reed
2004: Josh Hansen
2005: Davi Millsaps
2011: Ryan Sipes

Past Winners in Indianapolis

1992: Jimmy Button, Yamaha
1993: Doug Henry, Honda
1994: Ezra Lusk, Suzuki
1995: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1997: John Dowd, Yamaha
1998: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
1999: Ernesto Fonesca, Yamaha
2000: Michael Brandes, Honda
2001: Travis Pastrana, Suzuki
2002: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2003: Branden Jesseman, Suzuki
2004: Josh Hansen, Yamaha
2005: Davi Millsaps, Suzuki
2006: Davi Millsaps, Honda
2007: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
2008: Trey Canard, Honda
2009: Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki
2010: Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
2011: Ryan Sipes, Yamaha
2012: Blake Wharton, Suzuki
2013: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games