– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 6 – AT&T Stadium – Arlington, TX

Monster Energy Supercross’ tenure in the Dallas area dates back 42 years to 1975, the second season of the championship, which is now the longest of any stadium host city in history. North Texas has hosted a race in 37 of the championship’s 44 seasons.

The original home of the championship in the Dallas area was legendary Texas Stadium in Irving, which hosted 29 races from ’75-’08. Nearby Arlington’s state-of-the-art AT&T Stadium has been supercross’ current home since the 2010 season.

The Dallas area also has a unique history in the 250SX Class. It served as a dual-region event from ’85-’96, but has since alternated as a standalone stop of both the Western and Eastern Regional Championships (11 seasons West; 9 seasons East).

The largest domed sports structure in the world, AT&T Stadium is capable of housing the 305-foot Statue of Liberty inside its roof. It could also fit four Houston Astrodomes, which was the largest domed stadium in the world when it opened in 1965.

450SX Class Stats: Dallas

2016 Podium:

Ken Roczen
Ryan Dungey
Jason Anderson

The first 450SX Class race held in the Dallas area was on February 28, 1975. Jimmy Ellis won on a Can-Am for the brand’s first-ever supercross victory. Ellis gave Can-Am all of its seven 450SX Class wins.

The Dallas area stop of the championship has been the site of the final win for three legendary riders: Mike Bell (1983), David Bailey (1986), and Jeff Emig (1997).

The 1977 event featured the largest collection of different manufacturers in a Main Event, with nine – Honda, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, Maico, Ossa, Penton, Suzuki, and Yamaha. Jimmy Ellis and his Can-Am failed to make the Main Event.

Chad Reed is the winningest rider in Dallas area history, but has not claimed victory inside AT&T Stadium. His last win came at the final race at Texas Stadium in 2008.

The Dallas area was the site of James Stewart’s inaugural 450SX Class win in 2005. He currently sits second on the all-time wins list at 50.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Dallas (Last Win)

Honda: 13 (2011)

Yamaha: 9 (2008)

Kawasaki: 8 (2013)

Suzuki: 3 (2016)

Can-Am: 2 (1976)

KTM: 1 (2015)

All-Time Wins in Dallas (Wins)

Chad Reed (4)

Rick Johnson (3)

James Stewart (3)

Damon Bradshaw (2)

Ricky Carmichael (2)

Ryan Dungey (2)

Jimmy Ellis (2)

Jeremy McGrath (2)

Ryan Villopoto (2)

Kevin Windham (2)

Brand Sweeps in Dallas (450SX & 250SX)

1986: Honda – David Bailey & Keith Turpin

1987: Honda – Rick Johnson & Kyle Lewis

1993: Honda – Jeremy McGrath & Doug Henry

2002: Honda – Ricky Carmichael & Travis Preston

2005: Kawasaki – James Stewart & Grant Langston

2007: Kawasaki – James Stewart & Ben Townley

2010: Suzuki – Ryan Dungey & Blake Baggett

2013: Kawasaki – Ryan Villopoto & Dean Wilson

2015: KTM – Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Dallas

Doug Henry

Mike LaRocco

Jeremy McGrath

James Stewart

Ryan Villopoto

Kevin Windham

First-Time Winners in Dallas

1975: Jimmy Ellis

1990: Jean-Michel Bayle

1995: Doug Henry

2005: James Stewart

Past Winners in Dallas

1975: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am

1976: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am

1977: Bob Hannah, Yamaha

1983: Mike Bell, Yamaha

1984: Johnny O’Mara, Honda

1985: Rick Johnson, Yamaha

1986: David Bailey, Honda

1987: Rick Johnson, Honda

1988: Rick Johnson, Honda

1989: Jeff Ward, Kawasaki

1990: Jean-Michel Bayle, Honda

1991: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha

1992: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha

1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1994: Mike LaRocco, Kawasaki

1995: Doug Henry, Honda

1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki

1998: Ezra Lusk, Honda

1999: Kevin Windham, Honda

2000: Kevin Windham, Honda

2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

2002: Ricky Carmichael, Honda

2003: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2004: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2005: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2006: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2010: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki

2011: Trey Canard, Honda

2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2014: James Stewart, Suzuki

2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM

2016: Ken Roczen, Suzuki

250SX Class Stats: Dallas

2016 Podium:

Cooper Webb
Christian Craig
Zach Osborne

The first 250SX Class race held in the Dallas area was on May 4, 1985. Bobby Moore won on a Suzuki for his first and only career victory.

The Dallas area was the site of the first professional win for Ryan Villopoto, which came in just his seventh-career start in 2006. He would go on to win seven of eight races the following season en route to the 2007 Western Regional title.

KTM won its first-ever Monster Energy Supercross race in the Dallas area in 2001 with Grant Langston. It was also the South African’s first-career victory on U.S. soil.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Dallas (Last Win)

Kawasaki: 11 (2014)

Honda: 7 (2012)

Suzuki: 6 (2010)

Yamaha: 5 (2016)

KTM: 2 (2015)

All-Time Wins in Dallas (Wins)

Grant Langston (2)

Jeremy McGrath (2)

Ryan Villopoto (2)

Dean Wilson (2)

First-Time Winners in Dallas

1985: Bobby Moore

1988: Ty Davis

2001: Grant Langston

2006: Ryan Villopoto

2010: Blake Baggett

2014: Adam Cianciarulo

Past Winners in Dallas

1985: Bobby Moore, Suzuki

1986: Keith Turpin, Honda

1987: Kyle Lewis, Honda

1988: Ty Davis, Suzuki

1989: Mike LaRocco, Yamaha

1990: Denny Stephenson, Suzuki

1991: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1992: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1993: Doug Henry, Honda

1994: Jimmy Button, Suzuki

1995: Damon Huffman, Suzuki

1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki

1997: Kevin Windham, Yamaha

1998: John Dowd, Yamaha

1999: Nathan Ramsey, Kawasaki

2000: Greg Schnell, Yamaha

2001: Grant Langston, KTM
2002: Travis Preston, Honda

2003: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2004: Ivan Tedesco, Kawasaki

2005: Grant Langston, Kawasaki

2006: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2007: Ben Townley, Kawasaki

2008: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2010: Blake Baggett, Suzuki

2011: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki

2012: Justin Barcia, Honda

2013: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki

2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki

2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM

2016: Cooper Webb, Yamaha

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games