– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 11 – Lucas Oil Stadium – Indianapolis, IN

Monster Energy Supercross has thrilled fans in motorsports-crazed Indianapolis for a quarter century, with a 25-year legacy that spans across two stadiums – the RCA Dome (’92-’08) and Lucas Oil Stadium (’09-present).

Both stadiums in Indy have hosted landmark events in Monster Energy Supercross’ 450SX Class history. The RCA Dome was the site of the 300th race back in 1997, while Lucas Oil Stadium hosted the 600th race 18 years later in 2015.

Over its 25-year history in Indianapolis, Monster Energy Supercross has welcomed more than 1.3 million fans into both the RCA Dome and Lucas Oil Stadium, with one of the highest average attendances in history at over 54,000 per event.

Since moving into Lucas Oil Stadium in 2009, the Indy round of the championship has welcomed nearly half-a-million fans in eight seasons and will surely surpass the 500,000 mark on Saturday night.

450SX Class Stats: Indianapolis

2016 Podium:

  1. Ryan Dungey
  2. Ken Roczen
  3. Jason Anderson

The first 450SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992. Jeff Stanton won on a Honda en route to capturing his third and final supercross championship.

In 25 years of racing in Indianapolis there has never been a first-time 450SX Class winner.

Just three riders have claimed victory inside Lucas Oil Stadium – Ryan Dungey, Chad Reed, and Ryan Villopoto. Reed is the only rider to win inside both the RCA Dome and Lucas Oil Stadium, winning the final RCA Dome event in 2008 and the first Lucas Oil Stadium race in 2009.

A rider named Ryan has won for seven straight years in Indy, with Villopoto winning four straight from ’10-’14 and Dungey winning the last three seasons. Dungey will look to join Villopoto and Jeremy McGrath as the only riders to earn a four-peat in Indy.

On March 20, 2004, Indiana native Mike LaRocco became the oldest winner in history at 33 years, 1 month, and 8 days. The hometown triumph was the legend’s final 450SX Class victory in a career that spanned 18 seasons with an all-time record of 227 starts.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Indianapolis (Last Win)

Honda: 8 (2004)

Kawasaki: 7 (2013)

Yamaha: 4 (2008)

KTM: 3 (2016)

Suzuki: 3 (2009)

All-Time Wins in Indianapolis (Wins)

Jeremy McGrath (6)

Ricky Carmichael (4)

Ryan Villopoto (4)

Ryan Dungey (3)

Chad Reed (2)

Brand Sweeps in Indianapolis (450SX & 250SX)

1993: Honda – Jeremy McGrath & Doug Henry

2002: Yamaha – David Vuillemin & Chad Reed

2005: Suzuki – Ricky Carmichael & Davi Millsaps

2010: Kawasaki – Ryan Villopoto & Christophe Pourcel

2015: KTM – Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Indianapolis

Ricky Carmichael

Ryan Dungey

Ezra Lusk

Jeremy McGrath

Chad Reed

Past Winners in Indianapolis

1992: Jeff Stanton, Honda

1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1994: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1995: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda

1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki

1998: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha

1999: Ezra Lusk, Honda

2000: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha

2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

2002: David Vuillemin, Yamaha

2003: Ricky Carmichael, Honda

2004: Mike LaRocco, Honda

2005: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

2006: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2009: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2010: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2011: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2014: Ryan Dungey, KTM

2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM

2016: Ryan Dungey, KTM

250SX Class Stats: Indianapolis

2016 Podium:

  1. Aaron Plessinger
  2. Malcolm Stewart
  3. Gannon Audette

Aaron Plessinger became the 102nd winner in 250SX Class history last season, and the sixth different rider to earn his maiden victory in Indy. It was the de facto home race for the Ohio native, who hails from just about 100 miles east of Indy.

Indy has been one of the most parity heavy 250SX Class races of all time with 22 different winners in 25 seasons. Adam Cianciarulo will look to become just the fourth multi-time winner in Indy history Saturday.

Indy kicked off Chad Reed’s illustrious hall of fame career, winning his first start on U.S. soil at the RCA Dome in 2002. Reed won six of seven races to capture the East Region title that season, and is now the most successful international rider of all time.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Indianapolis (Last Win)

Yamaha: 7 (2016)

Suzuki: 6 (2012)

Kawasaki: 6 (2014)

Honda: 4 (2008)

KTM: 2 (2015)

All-Time Wins in Indianapolis (Wins)

Davi Millsaps (2)

Marvin Musquin (2)

Mickael Pichon (2)

First-Time Winners in Indianapolis

2000: Michael Brandes

2002: Chad Reed

2004: Josh Hansen

2005: Davi Millsaps

2011: Ryan Sipes

2016: Aaron Plessinger

Past Winners in Indianapolis

1992: Jimmy Button, Yamaha

1993: Doug Henry, Honda

1994: Ezra Lusk, Suzuki

1995: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki

1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki

1997: John Dowd, Yamaha

1998: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

1999: Ernesto Fonesca, Yamaha

2000: Michael Brandes, Honda

2001: Travis Pastrana, Suzuki

2002: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2003: Branden Jesseman, Suzuki

2004: Josh Hansen, Yamaha

2005: Davi Millsaps, Suzuki

2006: Davi Millsaps, Honda

2007: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki

2008: Trey Canard, Honda

2009: Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki

2010: Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki

2011: Ryan Sipes, Yamaha

2012: Blake Wharton, Suzuki

2013: Marvin Musquin, KTM

2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki

2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM

2016: Aaron Plessinger, Yamaha

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games