– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 9 – Rogers Centre – Toronto, ON

Toronto’s history with Monster Energy Supercross dates back to 2004, when it was one of two Canada rounds that composed the FIM World Supercross GP, a globally recognized precursor to the regular championship schedule that consisted of 16 races.

From ’04-‘06 Toronto remained a part of the FIM World Supercross GP. In 2008 it was integrated into the normal championship schedule, which established the 17-race slate currently enjoyed today and formalized supercross as an FIM World Championship.

As a result, Canada’s most populous city holds the unique distinction of being the only international destination of Monster Energy Supercross’ current 17-race World Championship schedule, currently in its 10th season.

The Rogers Centre, originally known as SkyDome, was the first modern stadium to feature a motorized retractable roof when it opened in 1989. The iconic venue will host its 12th supercross race this season.

450SX Class Stats: Toronto

2016 Podium:

  1. Ken Roczen
  2. Marvin Musquin
  3. Ryan Dungey

The first-ever supercross race in Toronto was on December 4, 2004, as part of the FIM World Supercross GP. Ricky Carmichael won on a Suzuki en route to clinching that season’s world title.

The first Toronto race as part of the formal Monster Energy Supercross schedule was March 29, 2008. Chad Reed won on a Yamaha en route to his second championship.

Last season Ken Roczen became the first rider without a championship to win in Toronto. In total, six different riders have won the 11 races inside Rogers Centre since 2004 – Carmichael, Dungey, Reed, Roczen, Stewart, and Villopoto.

In the complete history of supercross in Toronto, dating back to 2004, just three brands have claimed victory – Kawasaki, Suzuki, and Yamaha.

Things yet to be achieved in Toronto:

  • Brand sweep of wins in both classes
  • A rider winning in both the 250SX Class and 450SX Class
  • A first-time 450SX Class winner

All-Time Wins by Brand in Toronto (Last Win)

Kawasaki: 3 (2013)

Suzuki: 3 (2016)

Yamaha: 2 (2009)

*FIM World Supercross GP

Kawasaki: 1 (2005)

Suzuki: 1 (2004)

Yamaha: 1 (2006)

All-Time Wins in Toronto (Wins)

Ryan Villopoto (3)

James Stewart (2)

*Stewart also has one FIM World Supercross GP win.

Past Winners in Toronto

*2004: Ricky Carmichael – Suzuki

*2005: James Stewart – Kawasaki

*2006: Chad Reed – Yamaha

2008: Chad Reed – Yamaha

2009: James Stewart – Yamaha

2010: Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki

2011: Ryan Dungey – Suzuki

2012: Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki

2013: Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki

2014: James Stewart – Suzuki

2016: Ken Roczen – Suzuki

*FIM World Supercross GP

250SX Class Stats: Toronto

2016 Podium:

  1. Justin Hill
  2. Jeremy Martin
  3. Matt Bisceglia

The first-ever 250SX Class race in Toronto was an exhibition on December 4, 2004. Nate Ramsey won on a KTM.

The first points-paying 250SX Class race in Toronto was on March 28, 2009. Christophe Pourcel won on a Kawasaki en route to the first of back-to-back titles.

A rider named Justin has won four of the seven points-paying 250SX Class races in Toronto – Justin Barcia (’10 & ’12), Justin Bogle (’14), and Justin Hill (’16).

All-Time Wins by Brand in Toronto (Last Win)

Honda: 3 (2014)

Kawasaki: 2 (2011)

KTM: 2 (2016)

*Toronto Exhibition Races

KTM: 2 (2004 & 2006)

Honda: 2 (2005 & 2008)

All-Time Wins in Toronto (Wins)

Justin Barcia (2)

First-Time Winners in Toronto

2010: Justin Barcia

2014: Justin Bogle

Past Winners in Toronto

*2004: Nathan Ramsey – KTM

*2005: Davi Millsaps – Honda

*2006: Martin Davalos – KTM

*2008: Shaun Skinner – Honda

2009: Christophe Pourcel – Kawasaki

2010: Justin Barcia – Honda

2011: Dean Wilson – Kawasaki

2012: Justin Barcia – Honda

2013: Marvin Musquin – KTM

2014: Justin Bogle – Honda

2016: Justin Hill – KTM

*Toronto Exhibition Races

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games