– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

#DutchWorldSBK: Manufacturers profiles from The Netherlands

Aprilia have won twice at Assen, with Eugene Laverty (Milwaukee Aprilia) in Race 2, 2013 and with Sylvain Guintoli in Race 1, 2014: that was their last podium finish here. Last year the best Aprilia result was a 5th place by Savadori in Race 1. Savadori had also been the fastest Aprilia rider in 2016, in both races (6th and 4th).

The best result for BMW at Assen was recorded by Marco Melandri in the first 2012 Race: 4th. Last year Jordi Torres was able to take BMW into the top-10 with a 7th place finish in Race 2.

Ducati have 72 podiums to their name at Assen: the second-highest total in history behind the 77 also scored by Ducati at Misano. Their wins tally is equally impressive: 25, again second only to their Misano total of 29. Ducati haven’t able to win here in the last five years/eleven races, making this their worst drought at the Dutch track. The last win for Ducati here came in 2012, Race 2: in that race they locked out the podium with Sylvain Guintoli in 1st, Davide Giugliano in 2nd and Carlos Checa in 3rd. Last year Melandri and Davies recorded two third places in Race 1 and Race 2 respectively – behind the Kawasaki duo of Rea and Sykes in both cases.

Honda have won here 15 times, a record second only to Ducati (25): their last five wins came in the 2010-2014 period thanks to Jonathan Rea. In 2015 and 2016 they were also able to climb onto the podium, without the current world champion, racking up four third places. Last year their best results were a 6th by Stefan Bradl in Race 1 and a 9th by Nicky Hayden in Race 2.

The combined performances of Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) in qualifying and Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) the races have made Kawasaki an unbeatable machine in Assen. They have won the last 6 races held here, and recorded pole in the last 6 race weekends – which are both record streaks at this track.

Yamaha have won twice at Assen: Noriyuki Haga claimed Race 2 in 2000 and Ben Spies won from pole the first one in 2009. James Toseland was the last Yamaha rider on the podium here with second and third place finishes in the 2010 races. Last year the first race was a nightmare for Yamaha, as none of their riders made it to the flag, while in Race 2 Van der Mark and Lowes were just off the podium in 4th and 5th.

Thanks to Leon Camier, MV Agusta have been able to score points in all the races held here in the last three years: their best result is a fourth place, in Race 1, 2016.

Catch all the riders’ reactions and more on our WorldSBK social channels and at

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games