– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

#USWorldSBK Manufacturers profiles from Laguna Seca – As WorldSBK heads stateside, take a look at who has prospered in WorldSBK

Aprilia have won three times at Laguna Seca: with Troy Corser in 2000’s Race 1, Eugene Laverty in 2013’s Race 2, and Marco Melandri in 2014’s Race 1. Their last podium here came four years ago with Sylvain Guintoli, who was second in Race 2. Last year Eugene Laverty (Milwaukee Aprilia) scored the overall best result for Aprilia in Race 2, finishing sixth.

In 2013, BMW recorded two podium finishes here, as Chaz Davies was second in Race 1 and Marco Melandri third in Race 2. Last year Jordi Torres was seventh in Race 1, while in Race 2 disaster struck as both BMW riders, Torres and Raffaele De Rosa, crashed out of the race.

Last year Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati) recorded the 13th win for Ducati at Laguna Seca in Race 1, while in Race 2 gave to the Italian manufacturer their 39th podium. Both are records for this track: Kawasaki follows with seven wins and 20 podiums. Ducati’s rate of success here is so high that it was only in 2013 and 2014 they weren’t able to score podiums. In all the races run here, Ducati have always had a bike in the top four grid spots in qualifying.

Honda have won five times in Laguna Seca: the last ones came in 2004 (a double from Chris Vermeulen). The last Honda podium here was secured by the late, great Nicky Hayden who was 3rd in Race 1, 2016. Last year both Honda riders scored identical results in both races: Stefan Bradl in 11th and Jake Gagne (Red Bull Honda World Superbike Team) in 15th.

In recent years, Kawasaki have been one of the most successful manufacturers here. Five of their seven wins came with their current pair of works riders – Sykes and Rea – from 2013 onwards. In the same timespan, they have scored 14 of their 20 podiums. Only Ducati has won and recorded more podiums at the Monterey track. Last year Rea and Sykes were second and third in Race 1 behind Chaz Davies, while in Race 2 they recorded a 1-2. Sykes and Rea made great starts from seventh and eighth on the grid, and they were already first and second at the end of the opening lap. In the last ten races run here, the best Kawasaki at the flag was always in the top four. This started from 2014 and it improves with the best Kawasaki always finishing on the podium at Laguna Seca.

The best result for MV Agusta at Laguna Seca was recorded last year by Leon Camier, which was sixth in Race 1.

Yamaha have stood on the podium three times at Laguna Seca. These came with a win from Noriyuki Haga in 1998, and a first and a second by the same Haga in 2000. Last year Michael van der Mark (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) finished 8th in Race 1 and Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) 9th in Race 2.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games