– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Race This Saturday Honors 40 Years of the Sport’s History

AURORA, Ill. (January 15, 2014) – Feld Motor Sports® announced today that the second Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at Angel Stadium this Saturday will serve as the official “40th Anniversary Celebration Race.”

To kick the weekend off, several past champions will join Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen at the pre-race press conference and take part in a Q&A session that looks back at the 40 years of racing at Angel Stadium. On Friday evening, fans can celebrate with the champions at the OC Sports Bar (450 North State College Blvd Orange, CA) from 5:00 – 8:00 p.m. PT.

On race day, fans can take part in a meet and greet at the Monster Energy Supercross 40th Anniversary Legends and Heroes display in the pit area, where iconic bikes and retro memorabilia will be on display. During opening ceremonies, all 22 Monster Energy Supercross champions will be presented a commemorative helmet before being introduced to the crowd during opening ceremonies.

The race track will be a replica of the 2001 Anaheim season opener, which marked the passing of the torch from seven-time 450SX Class Champion Jeremy McGrath to Ricky Carmichael, who went on to win five championships and sits second on the all-time win list. These two great champions will take a hot lap on the iconic track during opening ceremonies.

Many of the current teams and riders of Monster Energy Supercross are also expected to get into the throwback spirit of the 40th anniversary celebration, and fans are encouraged to embrace the commemorative theme.

“Supercross was a very important part of my racing experience,” said Pierre Karsmakers, the first-ever supercross champion. “I was fortunate enough to be a part of an emerging sport in its early years. My generation is so impressed by the new generation of riders and of course the development of the bikes. As the first AMA Supercross Champion, I have great respect to be honored with such remarkable riders at the 40th anniversary celebration”

“It is an honor to be among these 22 deserving champions of Monster Energy Supercross,” said Ryan Villopoto, the reigning three-time 450SX Class Champion who rides for Monster Energy Kawasaki. “I am especially excited to race at this 40th-anniversary event and to see the legends of the sport honored in front of a huge crowd. The second race at Anaheim is going to be a great race, and I am also looking forward to seeing everyone in the pits wearing their retro gear.”

“The 2014 season marks a special milestone for the sport as we celebrate its 40th anniversary,” said Todd Jendro, vice president of two-wheel operations, Feld Motor Sports. “We wanted to pay tribute to the heritage of the sport by hosting a commemorative race that reflects on Monster Energy Supercross’ remarkable evolution and expansion into the mainstream. For the first-time ever, we will have all 22 supercross champions on hand at Angel Stadium.”

450SX Class Champions                          Title(s)                      Year(s)                      

Jeremy McGrath                                        7                               ‘93; ’94; ’95; ’96; ’98; ’99; ’00

Ricky Carmichael                                       5                               ’01; ’02; ’03; ’05; ’06

Bob Hannah                                              3                               ’77; ’78; ’79

Jeff Stanton                                              3                               ’89; ’90; ’92

Ryan Villopoto                                          3                               ’11; ’12; ‘13

Jeff Ward                                                 2                               ‘85; ’87

Chad Reed                                                2                               ’04; ’08

Rick Johnson                                            2                               ’86; ’88

James Stewart                                          2                               ’07; ’09

Pierre Karsmakers                                     1                               ’74

Jim Ellis                                                    1                               ‘75

Jim Weinert                                               1                               ‘76

Mike Bell                                                   1                               ‘80

Mark Barnett                                             1                               ‘81

Donnie Hansen                                          1                               ’82

David Bailey                                             1                               ‘83

Johnny O’Mara                                          1                               ‘84

J.M. Bayle                                                1                               ‘91

Jeff Emig                                                 1                               ’97

Ryan Dungey                                            1                               ’10


For the first-time ever, the entire Monster Energy Supercross season will air live on FOX Sports. FOX Sports 1 will air 13 races live and FOX Sports 2 will air four races live, in addition to every race re-airing on FOX Sports 2. The live Monster Energy Supercross programming on FOX Sports 1 and FOX Sports 2 also includes live coverage on the authenticated FOX Sports Go app.


For more information on the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, please log on to,

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games