– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Ryan Villopoto Brings Home Fourth Daytona Supercross By Honda

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Ryan Villopoto led all 20 laps of the 450 main event to capture his fourth career Daytona Supercross By Honda victory on Saturday night at Daytona International Speedway.

Villopoto, a native of Seattle, WA, never faced a serious challenge for the lead on his way to a 12.632-second victory. Rounding out the podium were KTM riders Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey.

Villopoto’s race was uneventful with the exception of putting his bike down with seven laps to go.

“Whenever you have a fall like that, all that’s running through your mind is ‘Don’t stall the bike and get up as quick as you can and take off,’ ” Villopoto said. “Luckily I had a nice lead and I was able to get up and regroup.”

Villopoto’s victory at Daytona, his fourth in the last five years, keeps him atop the AMA Supercross championship standings with a 28-point lead over Dungey.

Villopoto joins Jeff Stanton as the only four-time Daytona Supercross By Honda champions. Ricky Carmichael owns a record five Daytona Supercross By Honda wins.

“For sure, it’s achievable,” Villopoto said of tying Carmichael’s mark. “It’s racing. Each year we show up here, it’s a new year and a new track. A lot comes into play but certainly it’s achievable.”

In the 250 main event, Monster Energy Kawasaki riders swept the top three spots in the 15-lap event.

Blake Baggett on the No. 4 Kawasaki led 14 of 15 laps on his way to a 16.748 second victory.

Hometown favorite Adam Cianciarulo of nearby Port Orange earned his fourth career podium by finishing second.

For the seventh straight year, Carmichael returned as the course designer and Bomber Built, owned by three-time AMA 125cc National Motocross Champion Mark Barnett, built the Supercross course.

Carmichael retired from Supercross in 2007 as the most decorated rider in history with 15 AMA championships and 150 wins.