– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Melandri edges Sykes and Rea in opening day

Melandri Day 1

Portimao (Portugal), Friday 4 July 2014 –The hot weather and blisteringly hot temperatures for Free Practice 2 at the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve saw only a handful of riders better their lap times, leaving Aprilia Racing Team rider Marco Melandri at the top of the combined standings a fraction ahead of the improving Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) who elevated himself to 2nd despite running off track in the final few moments of the session.

Behind the top two Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike Team), Eugene Laverty (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki), Chaz Davies (Ducati Superbike Team), and Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) were 3rd to 6th respectively.

Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) got the better of Leon Haslam (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) and Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) for 7th, with Davide Giugliano (Ducati Superbike Team) moving up several places in the final ten minutes to claim 10th and the final automatic Superpole 2 place as it stands.

Sylvain Barrier (BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team) was once again the best classified EVO rider in 11th overall ahead of Toni Elias (Red Devils Roma Aprilia), Sheridan Morais (Iron Brain Grillini Kawasaki – EVO) and the much improved MV Agusta Reparto Corse machine of Italian Claudio Corti, who was 14th.

Luca Scassa (Team Pedercini Kawasaki – EVO) who rode in FP1 withdrew from the event, the Italian still not fully fit from his early season crash. He was replaced in the second free practice session by Riccardo Russo, who made a midday switch from the Superstock 1000cc category that he was originally supposed to ride this weekend.

At the back of the field both Team Hero EBR riders had a torrid opening day with both Aaron Yates and Geoff May currently outside of the qualification maxima.

Times: 1. Melandri (Aprilia) 1’43.880 average 159.137 kph; 2. Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’43.927; 3. Rea (Honda) 1’43.939; 4. Laverty (Suzuki) 1’44.147; 5. Davies (Ducati) 1’44.273; 6. Guintoli (Aprilia) 1’44.304; 7. Lowes (Suzuki) 1’44.374; 8. Haslam (Honda) 1’44.511; 9. Baz (Kawasaki) 1’44.629; 10. Giugliano (Ducati) 1’44.862; 11. Barrier (BMW) 1’44.960; 12. Elias (Aprilia) 1’45.466; 13. Morais (Kawasaki) 1’45.801; 14. Corti (MV Agusta) 1’45.847; 15. Badovini (Bimota) 1’45.919; 16. Iddon (Bimota) 1’45.927; 17. Salom (Kawasaki) 1’45.930; 18. Canepa (Ducati) 1’46.025; 19. Foret (Kawasaki) 1’46.557; 20. Guarnoni (Kawasaki) 1’46.588; 21. Andreozzi (Kawasaki) 1’46.712; 22. Russo (Kawasaki) 1’46.718; 23. Staring (Kawasaki) 1’47.596; 24. Rizmayer (BMW) 1’48.588; 25. Sebestyen (BMW) 1’50.324; NC. Yates (EBR) 1’51.414; NC. May (EBR) 1’51.881; EX. Scassa (Kawasaki) 1’49.223.

Free Practice 1

In almost perfect weather conditions Marco Melandri posted the fastest time in the opening Free Practice session ahead of Sunday’s 8th round of the Superbike World Championship at Portimao in Portugal. Behind Melandri there was as ever a flurry of riders exchanging positions but at the flag it was Sylvain Guintoli Eugene Laverty, Alex Lowes, Loris Baz and Tom Sykes… (read more)

World Supersport

After two scorching 45 minute sessions, former champion Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki) heads into tomorrow’s World Supersport FP3 and sole qualifying session at the top of the combined standings despite a late surge from the current 2014 championship leader Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport Team). With only the Dutchman improving this afternoon from the top six riders after FP1, the times from the earlier session which was held in slightly cooler… (read more)

Times: 1. Sofuoglu (Kawasaki) 1’46.400 average 155.368 kph; 2. Vd Mark (Honda) 1’46.439; 3. Cluzel (MV Agusta) 1’46.760; 4. Kennedy (Honda) 1’47.101; 5. Coghlan (Yamaha) 1’47.232; 6. Zanetti (Honda) 1’47.321; 7. Roccoli (MV Agusta) 1’47.373; 8. Rolfo (Kawasaki) 1’47.508; 9. De Rosa (Honda) 1’47.596; 10. Marino (Kawasaki) 1’47.640; 11. Jacobsen (Kawasaki) 1’47.695; 12. Bussolotti (Honda) 1’47.696; 13. Tamburini (Kawasaki) 1’47.957; 14. Wilairot (Honda) 1’47.991; 15. Debise (Honda) 1’48.102; 16. Baldolini (MV Agusta) 1’48.468; 17. Marconi (Honda) 1’48.567; 18. Nocco (Kawasaki) 1’48.635; 19. Calero (Honda) 1’49.217; 20. Menghi (Yamaha) 1’49.651; 21. Gamarino (Kawasaki) 1’49.676; 22. Coveña (Kawasaki) 1’49.702; 23. Ivanov (Yamaha) 1’50.956.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games