– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Lausitzring: “Did You Know?”


4000 – In the 2011 German Round Troy Corser became the first and so far only rider to reach 4000 career points.

203.723 – The old Hockenheim circuit holds the third all-time fastest average speed over a single pole lap: Colin Edwards started from the top spot in 2000 with a lap averaging 203.723 km/h. This record was beaten 11 years later, at Monza, when Max Biaggi set the new mark at 204.405 km/h. Tom Sykes then smashed that record at Monza with a speed of 205.459 km/h.

130 – In the last visit to Germany in 2013, Chaz Davies gave Great Britain its 130th win. British riders since then have increased that tally to 187.

100 – Ayrton Badovini took his maiden pole in Germany (Nurburgring) at his 100th race, back in 2013.

88 – So far 88 German riders have taken to the track over a WorldSBK weekend at some stage since 1988. 60 of them were able to qualify and start at least one race.

62 – The 2011 German round was the start of a long-running string of top 10 qualifying placings for Championship leader Jonathan Rea; since that weekend he has always qualified in the top 10, a sequence of 62 after Laguna Seca.

60 – So far there have been 60 WorldSBK races run in Germany. There has been a German race weekend every year since the beginning of the championship in 1988 up to 2013.

60 – In the 2006 weekend at Laustizring, both Troy Bayliss and Noriyuki Haga recorded their 60th career podiums.

40 – Curiously, Bayliss and Haga went hand in hand in milestones the following year as well in 2007, as Bayliss recorded his 40th win and Haga his 40th fastest race lap.

30 – Come 2008 and Bayliss and Haga hit the headlines once more in Germany with a round number: the 30th win for Haga and the 30th fastest race lap for Bayliss.

11 – Eleven years ago Lorenzo Lanzi recorded his maiden pole and win at the Lausitzring.

10 – It was an emotional pole for Kawasaki here in 2007 with Fonsi Nieto; they had waited nearly ten years to record a pole position, as their previous one had been with Yanagawa at Sugo in 1997. They faced another two-year drought afterwards, but from 2010 onwards they were on pole every year at least once, recording no less than 41 of their 60 poles in the last six and a half seasons.

7 – It has been seven years since a German rider has climbed on the podium (Max Neukirchner, Valencia 2009).

6 – The most successful riders on German tracks have been Colin Edwards, Carl Fogarty and Noriyuki Haga, with 6 wins each.

4 – Neil Hodgson is the only rider who claimed four pole positions on German soil: three at Oschersleben and one at the Lausitzring.

4 – Troy Bayliss won four times at the Lausitzring from 2001 to 2007: he is the only rider who has claimed more than one win here.

3.878 – Changing weather conditions at the Lausitzring in the 2007 qualifying session meant that Fonsi Nieto recorded pole with an advantage of 3.878 seconds over his nearest rival, his team-mate Regis Laconi. That is the largest margin in the entire history of the Championship. That would remain the only pole in Nieto’s career.

1 – Max Neukirchner is the only German rider to record wins (2) and poles (2) in WorldSBK history. He was on pole in Germany back in 2008 at the Nurburgring.

1 – 2013 World Champion Tom Sykes recorded his maiden WorldSBK win in Germany in 2011 (Nurburgring). That was the first win for Kawasaki after a four-year drought, and only the second in 11 years. Since then, Sykes and Kawasaki won at least four races per season: the Japanese manufacturer is living their best moment in history, having claimed 55 of their 90 wins since that one by Sykes in Germany.

1 – Chaz Davies also recorded his maiden win on German soil: in 2012 at the Nurburgring.

Riders Career Statistics
For more information in more languages, head to