– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 5 – Oakland Alameda County Coliseum – Oakland, CA

Monster Energy Supercross’ history in California’s Bay Area dates back to 1979 when it hosted three races inside Oakland’s Coliseum from ’79-’84. The championship has been back in the Bay Area since 2003, first from San Francisco’s AT&T Park before returning to Oakland in 2011.

Oakland Alameda County Coliseum and Angel Stadium share the distinction of being the oldest stadiums in Monster Energy Supercross, with both opening in 1966.

The first ever Monster Energy Supercross race in the Bay Area was especially unique because it was made almost entirely of sand. Winner Jimmy Weinert’s dominant performance ultimately forced an addition to the rulebook banning “paddle” tires, which provide an advantage in sand.

The Oakland Coliseum remains the only venue in U.S. professional sports shared by both a Major League Baseball (Athletics) and National Football League (Raiders) franchise. It’s also has the smallest capacity of any permanent NFL stadium at 56,057.

450SX Class Stats: Bay Area

2016 Podium:

Ryan Dungey
Ken Roczen
Marvin Musquin

The first 450SX Class race held in the Bay Area was in Oakland on January 18, 1979. Jimmy Weinert won on a Kawasaki.

Wins at the 12 races in the Bay Area from ‘03-’14 were shared amongst just four riders – Ricky Carmichael, Chad Reed, James Stewart, and Ryan Villopoto. Stewart and Villopoto won in both San Francisco and Oakland, and Reed will look to do the same on Saturday.

Over the course of the 17 seasons that Monster Energy Supercross has raced in the Bay Area a rider has enjoyed consecutive wins just twice – Stewart in ’11 & ’12 and Villopoto in ’13 & ’14.

Ryan Dungey’s win in Oakland last season marked the first ever Bay Area victory for KTM in the premier division. The brand has three 250SX Class wins.

There has never been a first-time winner in the history of 450SX Class competition in the Bay Area.

All-Time Wins by Brand in the Bay Area (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 5 (2014)

Yamaha: 5 (2012)

Honda: 3 (2015)

Suzuki: 3 (2007)

KTM: 1 (2016)

All-Time Wins in the Bay Area (Wins)

James Stewart (4)

Ricky Carmichael (3)

Ryan Villopoto (3)

Chad Reed (2)

Brand Sweeps in the Bay Area (450SX & 250SX)

2008: Yamaha – Chad Reed & Jason Lawrence

2015: Honda – Trey Canard & Malcolm Stewart

Riders to Win in Both Classes in the Bay Area

Trey Canard

James Stewart

Ryan Villopoto

Past Winners in the Bay Area

1979: Jimmy Weinert, Kawasaki

1980: Kent Howerton, Suzuki

1984: Ron Lechien, Honda

2003: Ricky Carmicahel, Honda

2004: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2005: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

2006: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2007: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2009: James Stewart, Yamaha

2010: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2011: James Stewart, Yamaha

2012: James Stewart, Yamaha

2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2014: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2015: Trey Canard, Honda

2016: Ryan Dungey, KTM

250SX Class Stats: Bay Area

2016 Podium:

Joey Savatgy
Christian Craig
Colt Nichols

The first 250SX Class race held in the Bay Area was in San Francisco on January 25, 2003. James Stewart won on a Kawasaki.

The results for each of the podium finishers in Oakland last season served as his career-best finish at that time.

The 250SX Class has seen incredible parity in the Bay Area, with only Nathan Ramsey winning multiple races over the span of 14 seasons. The division will welcome its 14th different winner on Saturday.

All-Time Wins by Brand in the Bay Area (Last Win)

Honda: 5 (2015)

Kawasaki: 5 (2016)

KTM: 3 (2014)

Yamaha: 1 (2008)

All-Time Wins in the Bay Area (Wins)

Nathan Ramsey (2)

First-Time Winners in the Bay Area

2005: Billy Laninovich

2008: Jason Lawrence

2015: Malcolm Stewart

2016: Joey Savatgy

Past Winners in the Bay Area
2003: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2004: Nathan Ramsey, Honda

2005: Billy Laninovich, Honda

2006: Nathan Ramsey, KTM

2007: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2008: Jason Lawrence, Yamaha

2009: Jake Weimer, Kawasaki

2010: Trey Canard, Honda

2011: Broc Tickle, Kawasaki

2012: Eli Tomac, Honda

2013: Ken Roczen, KTM

2014: Jason Anderson, KTM

2015: Malcolm Stewart, Honda

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games