– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 8 – Georgia Dome – Atlanta, GA

Atlanta’s 40th season of Monster Energy Supercross competition will be celebrated with the inaugural MotoFest, an action-packed weekend of racing at the Georgia Dome headlined by the first-ever doubleheader with AMSOIL Arenacross and supercross.

MotoFest will also serve as the sport’s farewell to the legendary Georgia Dome, which has been the site of many great supercross moments for 25 seasons. It first became the home of the Atlanta round in 1993.

When it opened in 1992 the Georgia Dome was a modern marvel, serving as the largest covered stadium in the world, by capacity. It holds the record for the largest recorded attendance in supercross history at 71,009 fans.

The region’s infamous Georgia red clay has helped make Atlanta one of supercross’ most iconic races, a favorite of both riders and fans alike thanks to the unique, dynamic soil that lends itself to great racing.

450SX Class Stats: Atlanta

2016 Podium:

  1. Ryan Dungey
  2. Marvin Musquin
  3. Chad Reed

The first 450SX Class race held in Atlanta was on March 5, 1977. Bob Hannah earned his first career win aboard a Yamaha.

Ryan Dungey will look to become just the fourth rider in history to win in Atlanta for three consecutive years. Only Damon Bradshaw (’91-’93), Jeremy McGrath (’98-’00), and Ricky Carmichael (’01-’03) have accomplished that feat.

Chad Reed earned his most recent win in Atlanta, as part of back-to-back Georgia Dome races in 2015, at the age of 32. Reed’s 44th career win prevented Dungey from chasing the first-ever four-peat in Atlanta.

Davi Millsaps’ first career 450SX Class win came in Atlanta in 2008. He was the first, and remains the only, Georgia native to win in his home state in the premier division.

Damon Bradshaw holds the unique distinction of being the final winner at Atlanta’s original host venue, Fulton County Stadium, in 1992 and the inaugural winner at the Georgia Dome in 1993. Who will win the final race at the Georgia Dome?

All-Time Wins by Brand in Atlanta (Last Win)

Yamaha: 11 (2009)

Honda: 10 (2008)

Kawasaki: 8 (2015)

Suzuki: 6 (2013)

KTM: 4 (2016)

All-Time Wins in Atlanta (Wins)

Jeremy McGrath (5)

Ricky Carmichael (5)

Ryan Dungey (4)

Mark Barnett (3)

Damon Bradshaw (3)

Bob Hannah (3)

James Stewart (3)

Chad Reed (2)

Brand Sweeps in Atlanta (450SX & 250SX)

1985: Kawasaki – Mark Barnett & Eddie Warren

1986: Honda – Rick Johnson & Keith Turpin

1997: Kawasaki – Damon Huffman & Ricky Carmichael

1998: Honda – Davi Millsaps & Trey Canard

1999: Jeremy McGrath & Ernesto Fonseca

2000: Jeremy McGrath & Stephane Roncada

2015: Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Atlanta

Damon Bradshaw

Ricky Carmichael

Ryan Dungey

Chad Reed

James Stewart

First-Time Winners in Atlanta

1977: Bob Hannah

1980: Chuck Sun

1989: Jeff Stanton

1997: Damon Huffman

2008: Davi Millsaps

Past Winners in Atlanta

1977- Bob Hannah; Yamaha

1978- Marty Tripes; Honda

1979- Bob Hannah; Yamaha

1980- Chuck Sun; Honda

1981- Mark Barnett; Suzuki

1982- Bob Hannah; Yamaha

1983- Mark Barnett; Suzuki

1984- Johnny O’Mara; Honda

1985- Mark Barnett; Kawasaki

1986- Rick Johnson; Honda

1989- Jeff Stanton; Honda

1990- Jeff Ward; Kawasaki

1991- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha

1992- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha

1993- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha

1994- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha

1995- Mike LaRocco; Kawasaki

1996- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha

1997- Damon Huffman; Kawasaki

1998- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha

1999- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha

2000- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha

2001- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki

2002- Ricky Carmichael; Honda

2003- Ricky Carmichael; Honda

2004- Chad Reed; Yamaha

2005- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki

2006- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki

2007- James Stewart; Kawasaki

2008- Davi Millsaps; Honda

2009- James Stewart; Yamaha

2010- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki

2011- Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki

2012- Ryan Dungey; KTM

2013- James Stewart; Suzuki

2014- Ken Roczen; KTM

2015- Chad Reed; Kawasaki

2015- Ryan Dungey; KTM

2016- Ryan Dungey; KTM


250SX Class Stats: Atlanta

2016 Podium:

  1. Martin Davalos
  2. Malcolm Stewart
  3. Aaron Plessinger

The first 250SX Class race held in Atlanta was on February 23, 1985. Eddie Warren won on a Kawasaki for his first career win, en route to supercross’ inaugural Eastern Regional title.

Martin Davalos’ win in Atlanta last season ended a gap of over 200 races between victories for Husqvarna, which last won a 250SX Class Main Event in 2001 with Travis Preston. The Georgia Dome is now the only stadium in which each brand has won.

An impressive total of 12 riders have earned their first career supercross win in Atlanta over the course of 30 seasons. Just three former Main Event winners will line up on the gate this weekend for the final race inside the Georgia Dome.


All-Time Wins by Brand in Atlanta (Last Win)

Kawasaki: 9 (2014)

Honda: 8 (2013)

Yamaha: 8 (2015)

Suzuki: 4 (2007)

Husqvarna: 1 (2016)

KTM: 1 (2015)

All-Time Wins in Atlanta (Wins)

Justin Barcia (2)

Ricky Carmichael (2)

Martin Davalos (2)

Christophe Pourcel (2)

Brian Swink (2)

First-Time Winners in Atlanta

1985: Eddie Warren

1986: Keith Turpin

1990: Denny Stephenson

1993: Doug Henry

1996: John Dowd

1997: Ricky Carmichael

2006: Josh Grant

2007: Ryan Dungey

2008: Trey Canard

2011: Dean Wilson

2013: Wil Hahn

2014: Martin Davalos

Past Winners in Atlanta

1985- Eddie Warren; Kawasaki

1986- Keith Turpin; Honda

1989- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha

1990- Denny Stephenson; Suzuki

1991- Brian Swink; Honda

1992- Brian Swink; Suzuki

1993- Doug Henry; Honda

1994- Ezra Lusk; Suzuki

1995- Mickael Pichon; Suzuki

1996- John Dowd; Yamaha

1997- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki

1998- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki

1999- Ernesto Fonseca; Yamaha

2000- Stephane Roncada; Yamaha

2001- Nathan Ramsey; Yamaha

2002- Chad Reed; Yamaha

2003- Brock Sellards; Yamaha

2004- James Stewart; Kawasaki

2005- Grant Langston; Kawasaki

2006- Josh Grant; Honda

2007- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki

2008- Trey Canard; Honda

2009- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki

2010- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki

2011- Justin Barcia; Honda

2012- Justin Barcia; Honda

2013- Wil Hahn; Honda

2014- Martin Davalos; Kawasaki

2015- Jeremy Martin; Yamaha

2015- Marvin Musquin; KTM

2016- Martin Davalos; Husqvarna

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games