– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Did you know? #UKWorldSBK in Numbers – WorldSBK hits the UK and there’s some stats you won’t want to miss out on

2011 – The last race without a Kawasaki rider on the podium here was back in 2011.

1988 – Donington set the stage for the inaugural Championship round back in 1988: Davide Tardozzi (Bimota) and Marco Lucchinelli (Ducati) secured one win each on the 3rd of April.

52 – Ducati have built up 52 podium finishes in the 48 races held so far at Donington. Kawasaki are just behind with 30.

47 – In 48 races run at Donington, 47 different riders have stepped onto the podium.

18 – British riders have won 18 races here and they are currently unbeaten in the last nine: Race 2 in 2012 was won by Rea, then a string of eight for Tom Sykes. The last non-British winner here was Marco Melandri (Italy) in Race 1, 2012.

15 – Ducati have qualified on pole 15 times at Donington: all their rivals are on a combined 9 times.

13 – Troy Corser climbed onto the podium 13 times here, which is the record for the track: next up are Carl Fogarty and Tom Sykes with 11.

11-1 – In the last two race weekends held here in 2015 and 2016, British riders claimed 11 podiums, leaving only one position for other countries: the third spot in last year’s Race 1, claimed by Davide Giugliano (Italy).

11 – Tom Sykes has more than double the podium finishes than his closest current competitor Rea, who stands at 5.

10 – Tom Sykes has secured a podium in his last 10 races here. In WorldSBK history only Carl Fogarty managed a longer run of podiums on a given track: 15 at Assen from 1992 Race 2 to 1999 Race 2.

9 – If Tom Sykes wins Race 1, he will accomplish an unprecedented feat in WorldSBK history: winning on a given track for 9 straight times.

9 – The last win from ninth (or lower) on the grid here came in 2011, Race 1, by Marco Melandri. This will be put to the test this year in Race 2, with the re-shuffled grid format. So far in 2017, Race 2 winners have always secured the win from the 9th grid spot or lower.

5 – Tom Sykes will try to become the first rider to claim a fifth pole at Donington: he shares the record of four with Carl Fogarty. He is the only rider on the current grid to have started from pole here.

3 – There are only two riders in the current field who won a WorldSBK race at Donington: Jonathan Rea (1), Marco Melandri (2) and Tom Sykes (8). They are also the last three who joined the list of (24) Donington winners, respectively in 2012 (Melandri and Rea) and 2013 (Sykes).

2 – Donington has recently favoured breakaway wins: only two races in the last 16 were won with a margin smaller than one second at the flag (both 2012 ones).

1 – Donington was the stage of the first win of 4-times World Champion Carl Fogarty, back in 1992, Race 2. Fogarty is the all-time leader for wins – 59 – followed by Troy Bayliss at 52 and Jonathan Rea at 45.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games