– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Italian GP (Mugello) – Flying at 355 km/h over Mugello

Did you know…?

– Ducati won at Mugello with Casey Stoner in 2009 in a race where riders had to switch bikes after starting on a wet track.

– Jorge Lorenzo has won 5 of the last 6 races held at Mugello (2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016), making him the recent dominator of the Italian track. In the 250cc class he also claimed a victory which is why his total number of wins is 6 in Mugello.

– Dovizioso finished 2nd in the 2011 GP, his best result at Mugello.

– In 2004 Andrea Dovizioso was close to winning the race. He managed to arrive first in the final corner but upon accelerating, lost the rear wheel. He saved the crash but lost the GP win.

– In 2015, Dovizioso was on the way to win with the Ducati, but a technical problem forced him to retire.

– ​​Dovizioso has been in the leading group at every Italian GP.

– 19 thousandths is the difference by which Lorenzo beat Marquez in last year’s race. It is the tightest MotoGP victory at the Mugello circuit.

– Andrea Iannone’s Ducati clocked in at 354.9 km/h in last year’s race, the highest speed yet reached during a GP. It surpassed the previous highest speed of 350.8 km/h which was also by Andrea on a Ducati. Mugello is the circuit where the highest speeds are reached out of all the tracks on the calendar.

– The fastest lap recorded at Mugello is a 1’46.489. It was set by Iannone on Ducati in 2015 and it gave him the pole position in that race.

– Last year, the 6 Ducatis of Iannone, Dovizioso, Pirro, Laverty, Petrucci and Redding set the top 6 highest speeds during the race.

– Lorenzo crashed on the sighting lap in the 2009 race, when he started from pole position. In spite of that mishap, he managed to finish 2nd.

– At the 2004 Italian GP, Lorenzo introduced his slogan “Por Fuera” in a statement of intentions towards his rivals, indicating that he was going to do the impossible to win.

– Lorenzo won the 2005 Mugello GP. The race was also his first pole position in the 250cc class and his first podium in that category.

– There have been 31 GPs held at Mugello since it was inaugurated in 1976. It is the only circuit that has made no changes to its layout since its beginning.

– The Ducati grandstand overlooks the Correntaio corner. It is turn # 12 and one of the most exciting points to view the race.

– Nicky Hayden was an official Ducati rider between 2009 and 2013. The best of those years was the 2010 season where he finished once on the podium and finished fourth five times.

– Hayden was the eighth rider in MotoGP history to get a Ducati on the podium. His best race with the Italian motorcycle was at Aragon in 2010, where he passed Lorenzo on the last lap with a spectacular overtaking in the slowest area of ​​the track.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games