– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Manufacturers ups and downs at Misano

Aprilia have won 6 times in Misano, scoring three doubles – the first one in 2000 with Troy Corser, then in 2010 and 2012 with Max Biaggi. Since that last double, Aprilia have finished in 3rd three times at Misano, the last one was two years ago with Leon Haslam in Race 2. Last year their best result was a 5th by Savadori in Race 2.

In 2010 Troy Corser recorded the first BMW pole in WorldSBK history at Misano (incidentally the last pole in Corser’s career). They have taken two podium finishes in third, their best result here: with the aforementioned Corser in Race 1 2010 (the last of Corser’s 130 podiums) and with Leon Haslam in Race 2, 2012. Last year their best result was a 5th from Jordi Torres in Race 1.

With 28 wins (*), 11 poles and 76 podiums (*) out of 48 races run in Misano, Ducati have no rivals in the all-time standings. Last year they recorded one podium finish with Davide Giugliano, who was 3rd in Race 2. Their last wins here came in 2011: a double from Carlos Checa.

(*) the most for a manufacturer on any given track in the World Championship history.

Honda have won 4 times here, the last time in 2009’s Race 2 (Rea’s maiden win), and have climbed 17 times on the podium: the last came last year, with a 3rd from Van der Mark in Race 1.

Kawasaki will be the bike to beat at Misano, as they have dominated the last six races, in five cases scoring a double (Sykes-Baz in both 2014 races, Sykes-Rea in 2015 Race 1 and both races last year). Their podium tally was 8 from 1991 to 2013 here: since then they more than doubled it, as in total they have now climbed on the podium 19 times in Misano. With Tom Sykes, Kawasaki have recorded pole in the last five Misano weekends (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016): they are the only manufacturer with a string of 5 poles here (Ducati 4 from 2001 to 2004).

Yamaha have won twice in Misano: in 2006 Race 2 with Andrew Pitt (the only career win for the Australian) and in 2009 Race 1 with Ben Spies. Their last podium here came thanks to Marco Melandri, 3rd in the first 2011 race. Last year their best result was recorded by Sylvain Guintoli’s stand-in Niccolò Canepa: 7th in Race 1.

Last year MV Agusta recorded their best result at Misano with an 8th by Leon Camier in Race 1.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games