– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Did you know? #GermanWorldSBK in Numbers

WorldSBK heads into the second part of the season so it’s time to get your head around the stats ahead of Round Nine

4000 – In the 2011 German Round Troy Corser became the first –and to date, the only- rider to reach 4000 career points.

203.723 – The old Hockenheim track holds the third all-time value for the average speed over a single pole lap: Colin Edwards started from the top spot in 2000 with a lap averaging 203.723 km/h. This record value was beaten only 11 years on, at Monza, when Max Biaggi set the new mark at 204.405 km/h. Tom Sykes in 2013 improved that to 205.459 km/h, always at Monza.

100 – Last year Chaz Davies recorded the 100th pole here for Great Britain, the 170th for Ducati.

100 – Ayrton Badovini took his maiden pole in Germany (Nurburgring) at his 100th race, back in 2013.

89 – So far 89 German riders have taken to the track in a WorldSBK weekend, 61 of them were able to qualify and start at least one race.

74 – The 2011 German round was the start of a long-running string for Championship leader Rea: since that weekend he has always qualified in the top10, a sequence of 74 after Laguna Seca.

62 – So far there have been 62 WorldSBK races run in Germany. There has been a German race weekend every year since the beginning of the championship in 1988 up to 2013.

60 – In the 2006 weekend, both Troy Bayliss and Noriyuki Haga recorded their 60th career podium.

40 – Curiously, Bayliss and Haga went hand in hand in milestones also the following year, 2007, as Bayliss recorded his 40th win and Haga is 40th fastest race lap.

30 – Fast forward to 2008 and Bayliss and Haga hit the headlines once more in Germany with a round number: the 30th win for Haga and the 30th fastest race lap for Bayliss.

12 – Twelve years ago Lorenzo Lanzi recorded his maiden pole and win at the Lausitzring.

10 – An emotional pole for Kawasaki here in 2007 with Fonsi Nieto: they had waited nearly ten years to record a pole position, as their previous one had been with Yanagawa at Sugo in 1997. They faced another two-year drought afterwards, but from 2010 onwards they were on pole every year at least once, recording no less than 50 of their 69 poles since then.

8 – Eight years since a German rider climbed on the podium for the last time (Max Neukirchner, Valencia 2009).

8 – The last eight Lausitzring races were won by eight different riders. 2005/1: Vermeulen; 2005/2: Lanzi; 2006/1: Kagayama; 2006/2: Toseland; 2007/1: Haga; 2007/2: Bayliss; 2016/1: Davies; 2016/2: Rea.

6 – The most successful riders on the German tracks are Colin Edwards, Carl Fogarty and Noriyuki Haga, with 6 wins each.

4 – Neil Hodgson is the only rider to have claimed four pole positions on German soil: three at Oschersleben and one at the Lausitzring.

4 – Troy Bayliss won four times at the Lausitzring from 2001 to 2007: he is the only rider to have claimed more than one win here.

4 – Only four races out of 12 were won from pole at the Lausitzring: the winner came always from the first eight grid spots.

3.878 – Changing weather conditions in the 2007 qualifying session meant that Fonsi Nieto recorded pole with an advantage of 3.878 seconds over his nearest rival, his team-mate Regis Laconi. That is the largest margin in the entire history of the Championship. That would remain the only pole in Nieto’s career.

1 – Max Neukirchner is the only German rider who recorded wins (2) and poles (2) in WorldSBK history. He was on pole in Germany back in 2008 at the Nurburgring.

1 – 2013 World Champion Tom Sykes recorded his maiden WorldSBK win in Germany in 2011 (Nurburgring). That was the first win for Kawasaki after a four-year drought, and only the second in 11 years. Since then, Sykes and Kawasaki won at least four races per season: the Japanese manufacturer is living their best moment in history, having claimed 67 of their 102 wins since that one by Sykes in Germany.

1 – Also Chaz Davies recorded his maiden win on German soil: in 2012 at the Nurburgring. He became the 70th winner in WorldSBK history.

0 – Tom Sykes, second in the all-time rankings with 41 pole positions, has never started from pole on German soil.

Riders Career Stats

Riders Circuit Stats

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games