– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Aragon GP: A Championship to be decided in five races

Did you know…?

– With five races remaining, Andrea Dovizioso is tied on points with Marc Márquez in the lead of the World Championship.

– Dovizioso’s third place in 2012 is his best result at Aragon. It was a podium that resulted from a tough battle against Cal Crutchlow that went down to the finish line.

– Lorenzo has two victories in Aragon (2014 and 2015), and with the exception of 2010, has been on the podium every year.

– Lorenzo has managed to lead five races on the Ducati this year. Up to this point of the season, he has led for a total of 25 laps. The Red Bull Ring was he first for a total of 11 laps, followed by 6 laps at the last GP of San Marino and 5 in Catalunya.

– Ducati’s first victory in Aragon went to Casey Stoner on the Ducati. It was in 2010 and Nicky Hayden finished third in that race. Other than Crutchlow, no one has been on the Aragon podium for the Italian manufacturer.

– Hayden’s podium on the Ducati at the 2010 Aragon GP was achieved after beating Lorenzo on the last lap, and was the last podium by the American rider in dry conditions.

– This will be the eighth edition of the Aragon GP, a circuit that has had the following winners: Stoner, Lorenzo and Marquez (twice each), and Pedrosa.

– The maximum speed reached at Aragon was 345.8 km/h, set in 2015 by Andrea Iannone on Ducati.

– Jorge Lorenzo holds the Aragon circuit record with a time of 1’48.210.

– At the end of the front straight, riders go from 300 km/h down to 91 km/h over a braking distance of 236 meters in 5.4 seconds. But the hardest braking point is Turn 16, where riders exert a force of 6 kg on the brake lever over 277 meters.

– Motorland has a chicane similar to the famous Laguna Seca Corkscrew. It’s comparable in both its layout and the difference between the highest point and corner exit.

– The longest straight is 968 meters where speeds exceed 340 km/h.

– Marc Márquez has three wins at Aragon (2011 in Moto2, 2013 and 2016 in MotoGP) and a total of three race crashes: the first in 2010, which happened at the first corner; in 2014, where he crashed out of the lead in intense rain conditions, and in 2015, when he fell while trying to catch Lorenzo.

– Cal Crutchlow had his only podium finish with Ducati at the 2014 Aragon Grand Prix, the only season he rode for the Italian manufacturer.

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games