– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 4 – University of Phoenix Stadium – Glendale, AZ

Round 4: University of Phoenix Stadium
Phoenix, AZ
January 28, 2017

The fourth round of the 2017 season will be just the second ever visit to University of Phoenix Stadium. It will also signify the championship’s first visit this season to a venue dedicated to football, as well as the first domed stadium on the schedule.

The Phoenix-area stop of Monster Energy Supercross is especially unique because it is one of just two cities in the history of the sport, along with Los Angeles, to host its round of the championship in three different stadiums, which also includes Tempe’s Sun Devil Stadium (5 races from ’86-’98) and downtown Phoenix’s Chase Field (’99-’15).

The start straight on the expansive floor of University of Phoenix Stadium this weekend will span approximately 384 feet, making it the longest in the championship. Riders will be able to push speeds nearing an incredible 60 miles per hour.

The one-of-a-kind shape of the stadium’s exterior was built to resemble that of a barrel cactus, found in abundance in the Phoenix area, as well as a coiled snake, also abundant in the area’s desert landscape.

450SX Class Stats: Phoenix

2016 Podium:

  1. Ken Roczen
  2. Ryan Dungey
  3. Eli Tomac

The first 450SX Class race hosted in the Phoenix area was on May 10, 1986. Rick Johnson won on a Honda en route to capturing the championship.

Over the course of 16 seasons prior to 2010 no rider had ever earned his first-career victory in Phoenix. Since then, there have been three different first-time winners in the “Valley of the Sun” – Ryan Dungey (’10), Justin Barcia (’13), and Eli Tomac (’15).

Of the 15 different winners in Phoenix history, only four have won on more than one occasion – Ricky Carmichael, Ryan Dungey, Ezra Lusk, and James Stewart.

Lusk is the only rider in history to win at more than one venue in Phoenix. Dungey and Tomac will look to join him on this exclusive list on Saturday.

There have been six different winners over the past six seasons in Phoenix.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Phoenix (Last Win)

Honda: 7 (2015)

Kawasaki: 7 (2014)

Suzuki: 4 (2016)

Yamaha: 4 (2011)

KTM: 1 (2012)

All-Time Wins in Phoenix (Wins)

Ricky Carmichael (4)

James Stewart (4)

Ryan Dungey (2)

Ezra Lusk (2)

Brand Sweeps in Phoenix (450SX & 250SX)

1986: Honda – Rick Johnson & Willie Surratt

2003: Kawasaki – Ezra Lusk & James Stewart

2005: Suzuki – Ricky Carmichael & Broc Hepler

2007: Kawasaki – Ricky Carmichael & Christophe Pourcel

2013: Honda – Justin Barcia & Eli Tomac

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Phoenix

Ryan Dungey

Jeff Emig

James Stewart

Eli Tomac

David Vuillemin

Kevin Windham

First-Time Winners in Phoenix

2010: Ryan Dungey

2013: Justin Barcia

2015: Eli Tomac

Past Winners in Phoenix

1986: Rick Johnson, Honda

1987: Jeff Ward, Kawasaki

1991: Jean-Michel Bayle, Honda

1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki

1998: Ezra Lusk, Honda

1999: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha

2000: David Vuillemin, Yamaha

2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

2002: Ricky Carmichael, Honda

2003: Ezra Lusk, Kawasaki

2004: Kevin Windham, Honda

2005: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

2006: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2008: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2009: James Stewart, Yamaha

2010: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki

2011: James Stewart, Yamaha

2012: Ryan Dungey, KTM

2013: Justin Barcia, Honda

2014: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2015: Eli Tomac, Honda

2016: Ken Roczen, Suzuki

250SX Class Stats: Phoenix

2016 Podium:

  1. Christian Craig
  2. Cooper Webb
  3. Joey Savatgy

The first 250SX Class race held in the Phoenix area was on May 10, 1986. Willie Surratt won on a Honda.

Phoenix has welcomed back-to-back first-time winners in the 250SX Class, with Cooper Webb taking the win in 2015 and Christian Craig emerging victorious in 2016. In total, seven different riders have earned their first career win in the desert.

There have been 20 different 250SX Class winners over the course of 23 seasons of racing in the “Valley of the Sun,” including eight different winners over the past eight seasons.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Phoenix (Last Win)

Kawasaki: 8 (2012)

Honda: 5 (2016)

Yamaha: 5 (2015)

Suzuki: 3 (2009)

KTM: 2 (2014)

All-Time Wins in Phoenix (Wins)

Nathan Ramsey (2)

James Stewart (2)

Jake Weimer (2)

First-Time Winners in Phoenix

1999: Nathan Ramsey

2000: Casey Lytle

2005: Broc Hepler

2007: Christophe Pourcel

2008: Jake Weimer

2015: Cooper Webb

2016: Christian Craig

Past Winners in Phoenix

1986: Willie Surratt, Honda

1987: Donny Schmit, Suzuki

1991: Jeff Emig, Yamaha

1997: Kevin Windham, Yamaha

1998: David Vuillemin, Yamaha

1999: Nathan Ramsey, Kawasaki

2000: Casey Lytle, Honda

2001: Ernesto Fonseca, Yamaha

2002: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2003: James Stewart, Kawasaki

2004: Ivan Tedesco, Kawasaki

2005: Broc Hepler, Suzuki

2006: Nathan Ramsey, KTM

2007: Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki

2008: Jake Weimer, Honda

2009: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki

2010: Jake Weimer, Kawasaki

2011: Josh Hansen, Kawasaki

2012: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki

2013: Eli Tomac, Honda

2014: Jason Anderson, KTM

2015: Cooper Webb, Yamaha

2016: Christian Craig, Honda

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games