– Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Motorcycle News, Editorials, Product Reviews and Bike Reviews

Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package – Round 7 – U.S. Bank Stadium – Minneapolis, MN

Round 7: Minneapolis, MN
U.S. Bank Stadium
February 18, 2017

Monster Energy Supercross makes its anticipated return to the “Land of 10,000 Lakes” for the first time in three seasons. The championship has a history in Minneapolis that dates back 23 years, hosting 13 races inside the famed Metrodome from 1994 to 2013.

Supercross will make its debut on Saturday night inside the state-of-the-art U.S. Bank Stadium, located on the same site as the old Metrodome. It will become the 56th different venue to host a Monster Energy Supercross championship race in 44 seasons.

U.S. Bank Stadium is the first “fixed-roof” stadium since Detroit’s Ford Field opened in 2002, and features the world’s largest clear ethylene tetrafluoroethylene roof (ETFE) in the world. It also features the world’s largest pivoting doors, which stand at 95 feet.

Minneapolis signifies Ryan Dungey’s triumphant homecoming. He has fond memories of his home race, including a unforgettable final visit to the Metrodome in 2013 where he outdueled Ryan Villopoto for the win in front a hometown crowd of 48,846.

450SX Class Stats: Minneapolis

2013 Podium:

  1. Ryan Dungey
  2. Ryan Villopoto
  3. Davi Millsaps

The first 450SX Class race held in Minneapolis was on April 16, 1994. Jeremy McGrath won on a Honda en route to his second of four consecutive titles.

McGrath was the proverbial king of Minneapolis, winning the first six years inside the Metrodome. He failed to finish off the podium just once in nine career Minneapolis starts.

At the Metrodome McGrath also became the first rider to win at a single venue aboard three different brands. Since then, Ricky Carmichael, Ken Roczen, and James Stewart have also accomplished this rare feat at different venues.

Dungey’s first ever 450SX Class podium came at his home race as a fill-in rider during the 2008 season, in just his third start. Since then he’s amassed 92 additional podium finishes in 123 career starts (75.6%).

In 13 years of racing in Minneapolis, there has been just one first-time winner – Josh Hill. Additionally, just one rider has taken a win in both classes – Kevin Windham. A brand has also swept wins in both classes just once, in 2013 with KTM.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Minneapolis (Last Win)

Honda: 6 (2004)

Yamaha: 4 (2008)

Kawasaki: 1 (2001)

KTM: 1 (2013)

Suzuki: 1 (1997)

All-Time Wins in Minneapolis (Wins)

Jeremy McGrath (6)

Ricky Carmichael (3)

Brand Sweeps in Dallas (450SX & 250SX)

2013: KTM – Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Minneapolis

Kevin Windham

First-Time Winners in Minneapolis

2008: Josh Hill

Past Winners in Minneapolis

1994: Jeremy McGrath – Honda

1995: Jeremy McGrath – Honda

1996: Jeremy McGrath – Honda

1997: Jeremy McGrath – Suzuki

1998: Jeremy McGrath – Yamaha

1999: Jeremy McGrath – Yamaha

2000: David Vuillemin – Yamaha

2001: Ricky Carmichael – Kawasaki

2002: Ricky Carmichael – Honda

2003: Ricky Carmichael – Honda

2004: Kevin Windham – Honda

2008: Josh Hill – Yamaha

2013: Ryan Dungey – KTM

250SX Class Stats: Minneapolis

2013 Podium:

  1. Marvin Musquin
  2. Wil Hahn
  3. Blake Wharton

The first 250SX Class race held in Minneapolis was on April 16, 1994. Damon Huffman won on a Suzuki en route to the Western Regional title.

Over the span of 13 seasons in Minneapolis the 250SX Class has welcomed 11 different winners, only one of which earned his first career victory – Kevin Windham. A 12th different winner will emerge on Saturday night.

The 2002 Minneapolis race featured an international podium, with Australia’s Chad Reed first, South Africa’s Grant Langston second, and France’s Steve Boniface third.
All-Time Wins by Brand in Minneapolis (Last Win)

Suzuki: 5 (2003)

Kawasaki: 3 (2008)

Yamaha: 3 (2002)

Honda: 1 (1998)

KTM: 1 (2013)

All-Time Wins in Minneapolis (Wins)

Damon Huffman (2)

Kevin Windham (2)

First-Time Winners in Minneapolis

1996: Kevin Windham

Past Winners in Minneapolis

1994: Damon Huffman – Suzuki

1995: Damon Huffman – Suzuki

1996: Kevin Windham – Yamaha

1997: Kevin Windham – Yamaha

1998: Stephane Roncada – Honda

1999: David Pingree – Suzuki

2000: Shae Bentley – Kawasaki

2001: Travis Pastrana – Suzuki

2002: Chad Reed – Yamaha

2003: Branden Jesseman – Suzuki

2004: James Stewart – Kawasaki

2008: Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki

2013: Marvin Musquin – KTM

wordscape cheatgun mayhem 2 unblocked games